
 

May 11, 2022 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
 

DIRECTOR'S OFFICE 
 

OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE AND SURGERY - GENERAL RULES 
 

Filed with the secretary of state on March 22, 2023 
 
These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted 

under section 33, 44, or 45a(9) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 
306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a.  Rules adopted under these sections become 

effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state. 
 
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory 
affairs by sections 16145, 16148, 16174, 16201, 16204, 16215, 16287, 17531, 17533, and 
17548 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16174, 
333.16201, 333.16204, 333.16215, 333.16287, 333.17531, 333.17533, and 333.17548, 
and Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 2011-4, MCL 
338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030) 
 
R 338.114, R 338.115, R 338.119, R 338.120, R 338.121, R 338.123, R 338.125, R 
338.127, R 338.129, R 338.133, R 338.141, and R 338.143 of the Michigan 
Administrative Code are amended, as follows: 

 
 

PART 1.  GENERAL PROVISIONS 
 
 
R  338.114  Telehealth. 
  Rule 14.  (1) A licensee shall obtain consent for treatment before providing a telehealth 
service under section 16284 of the code, MCL 333.16284. 
  (2) A licensee shall maintain proof of consent for telehealth treatment in the patient’s 
up-to-date medical record and satisfy section 16213 of the code, MCL 333.16213. 
  (3) A licensee providing a telehealth service may prescribe a drug if the licensee is a 
prescriber acting within the scope of the licensee’s practice and in compliance with 
section 16285 of the code, MCL 333.16285, and if the licensee does both of the 
following: 
   (a) Refers the patient to a provider that is geographically accessible to the patient, if 
medically necessary. 
   (b) Makes himself or herself available to provide follow-up care services to the patient, 
or to refer the patient to another provider, for follow-up care. 
  (4) A licensee providing any telehealth service shall do both of the following: 
   (a) Act within the scope of his or her practice. 
   (b) Exercise the same standard of care applicable to a traditional, in-person health care 
service. 
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R 338.115  Code of ethics. 
  Rule 15.  (1) The standards of the American Osteopathic Association, 142 E. Ontario 
Street, Chicago, IL 60611-2864 set forth in the “Code of Ethics,” dated July 24, 2016, 
which are available at no cost on the association’s website at https://osteopathic.org, are 
approved and adopted by reference. 
  (2) A licensee shall not violate the code of ethics. 
  (3) Copies of the adopted standards referenced in subrule (1) of this rule are available 
for inspection and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the Board of 
Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Department of 
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 611 West Ottawa, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 
48909. 

 
 

R 338.119  Delegation of prescribing controlled substances to an advanced practice 
  registered nurse; limitation. 
  Rule 19.  (1) A physician may delegate the prescription of controlled substances listed 
in schedules 2 to 5 of part 72 of the code, MCL 333.7201 to MCL 333.7231, to a 
registered nurse who holds specialty certification under section 17210 of the code, MCL 
333.17210, except for a nurse anesthetist, if the delegating physician establishes a written 
authorization that has all the following information: 
   (a) The name, license number, and signature of the delegating physician. 
   (b) The name, license number, and signature of the nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, or 
clinical nurse specialist. 
   (c) The limitations or exceptions to the delegation. 
   (d) The effective date of the delegation. 
  (2) The delegating physician shall review and update a written authorization on an 
annual basis after the original date or the date of amendment, if amended.  The delegating 
physician shall note the review date on the written authorization. 
  (3) The delegating physician shall maintain a written authorization at the delegating 
physician’s primary place of practice. 
  (4) The delegating physician shall provide a copy of the signed, written authorization to 
the nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, or clinical nurse specialist. 
  (5) The delegating physician shall ensure that an amendment to the written authorization 
satisfies subrules (1) to (4) of this rule. 
  (6) A delegating physician may authorize a nurse practitioner, a nurse midwife, or a 
clinical nurse specialist to issue multiple prescriptions allowing the patient to receive a 
total of up to a 90-day supply of a schedule 2 controlled substance.  
  (7) A delegating physician shall not delegate the prescription of a drug or device 
individually, in combination, or in succession, for a woman known to be pregnant with 
the intention of causing either a miscarriage or fetal death. 

 
 

R 338.120  Training standards for identifying victims of human trafficking; requirements. 
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  Rule 20.  (1) Under section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, an individual seeking 
licensure or that is licensed shall complete training in identifying victims of human 
trafficking that satisfies the following standards: 
   (a) Training content must cover all the following: 
     (i) Understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in the United States. 
     (ii) Identifying victims of human trafficking in health care settings. 
     (iii) Identifying the warning signs of human trafficking in health care settings for 
adults and minors. 
     (iv) Identifying resources for reporting the suspected victims of human trafficking. 
   (b) Acceptable providers or methods of training include any of the following: 
     (i) Training offered by a nationally recognized or state recognized health-related 
organization. 
     (ii) Training offered by, or in conjunction with, a state or federal agency. 
     (iii) Training obtained in an educational program that has been approved under these 
rules for initial licensure, or by a college or university. 
     (iv) Reading an article related to the identification of victims of human trafficking that 
satisfies the requirements of subdivision (a) of this subrule and is published in a peer-
reviewed journal, health care journal, or professional or scientific journal. 
   (c) Acceptable modalities of training include any of the following: 
     (i) Teleconference or webinar. 
     (ii) Online presentation. 
     (iii) Live presentation. 
     (iv) Printed or electronic media. 
  (2) The department may select and audit an individual and request documentation of 
proof of completion of training.   If audited by the department, the individual shall 
provide an acceptable proof of completion of training, including either of the following: 
   (a) Proof of completion certificate issued by the training provider that includes the date, 
provider name, name of training, and individual’s name. 
   (b) A self-certification statement by the individual.  The certification statement must 
include the individual’s name and either of the following: 
     (i) For training completed under subrule (1)(b)(i) to (iii) of this rule, the date, training 
provider name, and name of training. 
     (ii) For training completed under subrule (1)(b)(iv) of this rule, the title of the article, 
author, publication name of the peer-review journal, health care journal, or professional 
or scientific journal, and the date, volume, and issue of publication, as applicable. 
  (3) Under section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, the requirements specified in 
subrule (1) of this rule apply for license renewals beginning with the 2017 renewal cycle 
and for initial licenses beginning December 20, 2021. 
 
 

PART 2.  LICENSES 
 
 
R 338.121  Accreditation standards for approval of osteopathic medical schools, 
  postgraduate training programs, and institutions; adoption by reference. 
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  Rule 21.  (1) The standards for accrediting osteopathic medical schools developed and 
adopted by the American Osteopathic Association Commission on Osteopathic College 
Accreditation, 142 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611-2864, set forth in the 
publication entitled “Accreditation of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine: COM 
Accreditation Standards,” effective July 1, 2019, which are available at no cost on the 
association’s website at https://osteopathic.org, are approved and adopted by reference.  
Any osteopathic school of medicine accredited by the Commission on Osteopathic 
College Accreditation is approved. 
  (2) The standards of the American Osteopathic Association Council on Postdoctoral 
Training, 142 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611-2864, set forth in the publication 
entitled “The Basic Documents for Postdoctoral Training,” effective July 1, 2020, which 
are available at no cost on the association’s website at https://osteopathic.org, are 
approved and adopted by reference.  Any osteopathic postgraduate training program 
accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Council on Postdoctoral Training is 
approved. 
  (3) The standards of the American Osteopathic Association Council on Osteopathic 
Postdoctoral Training Institutions, 142 E. Ontario Street, Chicago, Illinois 60611-2864, 
set forth in the publication entitled “OPTI Accreditation Handbook,” effective March 
2014, which are available at no cost on the association’s website at 
https://osteopathic.org, are approved and adopted by reference.  Any osteopathic 
institution accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Council on Osteopathic 
Postdoctoral Training Institutions is approved. 
  (4) The standards for approval of a postgraduate training program developed and 
adopted by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education, 401 North 
Michigan Avenue, Suite 2000, Chicago, Illinois 60611, set forth in the publication 
entitled “ACGME Common Program Requirements,” effective July 1, 2021, which are 
available at no cost on the council’s website at https://www.acgme.org, are approved and 
adopted by reference.  Any medical postgraduate training program accredited by the 
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education is approved. 
  (5) Copies of the standards adopted by reference in this rule are available for inspection 
and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the Board of Osteopathic Medicine 
and Surgery, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 611 
West Ottawa Street, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909. 
 
 
R 338.123  Licensure by examination. 
  Rule 23.  An applicant for a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license shall 
satisfy the requirements of the code and the rules promulgated under the code, as well as 
all the following requirements: 
   (a) Provide the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the 
department. 
   (b) Provide proof verifying completion of a degree from a school of osteopathic 
medicine that satisfies the standards under R 338.121(1). 
   (c) Provide proof verifying passing scores on all levels of the Comprehensive 
Osteopathic Medical Licensing Examination of the United States (COMLEX-USA) 
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adopted under R 338.129 and provide proof verifying satisfaction of all the requirements 
under R 338.129. 
   (d) Provide proof verifying completion of a minimum of 1 year of postgraduate clinical 
training in a program that satisfies either of the following requirements: 
     (i) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(2) 
at a training institution that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(3). 
     (ii) A postgraduate training program approved under R 338.121(4). 
   (e) Provide a certificate of completion of the postgraduate training required under 
subdivision (d) of this rule to the department no more than 15 days before the scheduled 
date of completion. 
 
 
R 338.125  Licensure by endorsement. 
  Rule 25.  (1) An applicant for a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license by 
endorsement shall satisfy the requirements of the code and the rules promulgated under 
the code, as well as all the following requirements: 
   (a) Provide the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the 
department. 
   (b) Provide proof verifying the holding of a current and full doctor of osteopathic 
medicine and surgery license in another state or in a province of Canada. 
   (c) If the applicant is licensed as a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery in a 
province in Canada, provide proof verifying that the applicant completed the educational 
requirements in Canada or in the United States at a school of osteopathic medicine that 
satisfies the standards under R 338.121(1) for licensure as a doctor of osteopathic 
medicine and surgery in Canada or in the United States. 
   (d) Provide proof verifying passing scores on all levels of the COMLEX-USA adopted 
under R 338.129 and provide proof verifying satisfaction of all the requirements under R 
338.129 for a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license in another state or in a 
province of Canada to obtain licensure as a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery in 
another state or in a province of Canada. 
   (e) Provide proof verifying completion of a minimum of 1 year of postgraduate clinical 
training in a program that satisfies either of the following requirements: 
     (i) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(2) 
at a training institution that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(3). 
     (ii) A postgraduate training program approved under R 338.121(4). 
  (2) An applicant who provides proof verifying a current and full license in good 
standing as a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery in another state or in a province 
of Canada for not less than the last 5 years before the date of filing the application for a 
doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license by endorsement, and who provides 
proof verifying completion of the educational requirements in Canada or in the United 
States at a school of osteopathic medicine that satisfies the standards under R 338.121(1), 
is presumed to satisfy the requirements of subrule (1)(d) and (e) of this rule.  
  (3) An applicant that is or has been licensed, registered, or certified in a health 
profession or specialty by another state, the United States military, the federal 
government, or another country shall disclose that fact on the application form.  The 
applicant shall satisfy the requirements of section 16174(2) of the code, MCL 333.16174, 
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including verification from the issuing entity showing that disciplinary proceedings are 
not pending against the applicant and, except as otherwise provided under section 
17511(2) of the code, MCL 333.17511, sanctions are not in force at the time of 
application.  If licensure is granted and it is determined that sanctions have been imposed, 
the disciplinary subcommittee may impose appropriate sanctions under section 16174(5) 
of the code, MCL 333.16174. 
 
 
R 338.127  Educational limited license. 
  Rule 27.  (1) An individual not eligible for a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery 
license shall obtain an educational limited license before engaging in postgraduate 
training. 
  (2) An applicant for an educational limited license shall satisfy the requirements of the 
code and the rules promulgated under the code, as well as all the following requirements: 
   (a) Provide the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the 
department. 
   (b) Provide proof verifying that the applicant has graduated or is expected to graduate 
within 3 months after the date of the application from an osteopathic medical school that 
satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(1).  
   (c) Provide proof verifying that the applicant has been accepted into a postgraduate 
training program that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(2) or (4). 
  (3) Under section 17512(2) of the code, MCL 333.17512, an educational limited license 
may be renewed not more than 5 years. 
 
 
R 338.129  Examination; adoption; passing scores; limitation on attempts; time 
  limitations. 
  Rule 29.  (1) The COMLEX-USA, developed and administered by the National Board 
of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME), is approved and adopted, and consists of 
the following levels: 
   (a) COMLEX-USA Level 1. 
   (b) COMLEX-USA Level 2-Cognitive Evaluation (Level 2-CE). 
   (c) COMLEX-USA Level 2-Performance Evaluation (Level 2-PE) or a temporary 
eligibility pathway approved by the NBOME. 
   (d) COMLEX-USA Level 3. 
  (2) The passing score for each level of the COMLEX-USA accepted for licensure is the 
passing score established by the NBOME. 
  (3) An applicant cannot make more than 6 attempts to pass any level of the COMLEX-
USA. 
  (4) An applicant shall successfully pass all levels of the COMLEX-USA within 7 years 
after the date that the applicant first passed any level of the COMLEX-USA.  An 
applicant may request consideration of a variance of the 7-year requirement by providing, 
at a minimum, proof verifying both of the following requirements to the board: 
   (a) That the applicant passed all levels of the COMLEX-USA, but that the time taken to 
pass all levels is more than 7 years. 
   (b) That the applicant has completed either of the following activities: 
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     (i) Graduation from an accredited graduate degree program in addition to osteopathic 
medical school. 
     (ii) Completion of a residency or fellowship program with demonstrated consistent 
participation in the program. 

 
 

R 338.133  Relicensure. 
  Rule 33.  (1) An applicant whose doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license has 
lapsed for less than 3 years preceding the date of application for relicensure may be 
relicensed under section 16201(3) of the code, MCL 333.16201, if the applicant satisfies 
the requirements of the code and the rules promulgated under the code, as well as all the 
following requirements: 
   (a) Provides the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the 
department. 
   (b) Provides proof verifying the completion of not less than 150 hours of continuing 
education that satisfies the requirements under R 338.141 during the 3 years immediately 
preceding the date of the application for relicensure. 
   (c) Establishes good moral character as that term is defined in, and determined under, 
1974 PA 381, MCL 338.41 to 338.47. 
   (d) An applicant who holds or has ever held a license to practice osteopathic medicine 
and surgery shall establish all the following requirements: 
     (i) Disciplinary proceedings are not pending against the applicant. 
     (ii) If sanctions have been imposed against the applicant, the sanctions are not in force 
when applying. 
     (iii) A previously held license was not surrendered or allowed to lapse to avoid 
discipline. 
  (2) An applicant whose doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license has been 
lapsed for 3 years but less than 5 years may be relicensed under section 16201(4) of the 
code, MCL 333.16201, if the applicant provides fingerprints as set forth in section 
16174(3) of the code, MCL 333.16174, and satisfies the requirements of subrule (1) of 
this rule and 1 of the following requirements: 
   (a) Provides proof verifying that the applicant is currently licensed and in good standing 
as a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery in another state or in a province of 
Canada. 
   (b) Provides proof verifying completion of 1 of the following during the 3 years 
immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure: 
     (i) Successfully passed the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose 
Examination (COMVEX) offered by the NBOME.  The passing score is the passing score 
established by the NBOME. 
     (ii) Successfully completed a postgraduate training program that satisfies the 
requirements under R 338.121(2) or (4). 
     (iii) Successfully completed a physician re-entry program that is an organizational 
member of the Coalition for Physician Enhancement (CPE). 
     (iv) Successfully completed a physician re-entry program affiliated with an 
osteopathic medical school that satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(1). 
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  (3) An applicant whose doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery license has been 
lapsed for 5 years or more may be relicensed under section 16201(4) of the code, MCL 
333.16201, if the applicant provides fingerprints as set forth in section 16174(3) of the 
code, MCL 333.16174, and satisfies the requirements of subrule (1) of this rule and 1 of 
the following requirements: 
   (a) Provides proof verifying that the applicant is currently licensed and in good standing 
as a doctor of osteopathic medicine and surgery in another state or in a province of 
Canada. 
   (b) Provides proof verifying completion of both of the following during the 3 years 
immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure: 
     (i) Successfully passed the COMVEX offered by the NBOME.  The passing score is 
the passing score established by the NBOME. 
     (ii) Successfully completed 1 of the following training options: 
       (A) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements under R 
338.121(2) or (4). 
       (B) A physician re-entry program that is an organizational member of the CPE. 
       (C) A physician re-entry program affiliated with an osteopathic medical school that 
satisfies the requirements under R 338.121(1). 
  (4) If required to complete the requirements of subrule (2)(b) or (3)(b) of this rule, the 
applicant may obtain an educational limited license for the sole purpose of completing 
that training. 
  (5) An applicant with an educational limited license may be relicensed under section 
16201(3) or (4) of the code, MCL 333.16201, if the applicant satisfies subrule (1) of this 
rule and R 338.127. 
  (6) An applicant that is or has been licensed, registered, or certified in a health 
profession or specialty by another state, the United States military, the federal 
government, or another country shall disclose that fact on the application form.  The 
applicant shall satisfy the requirements of section 16174(2) of the code, MCL 333.16174, 
including verification from the issuing entity showing that disciplinary proceedings are 
not pending against the applicant and sanctions are not in force at the time of application.  
If licensure is granted and it is determined that sanctions have been imposed, the 
disciplinary subcommittee may impose appropriate sanctions under section 16174(5) of 
the code, MCL 333.16174. 
 
 

PART 3.  CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
 
R 338.141  License renewals. 
  Rule 41.  (1) An applicant for renewal shall satisfy the requirements of the code and the 
rules promulgated under the code. 
  (2) An applicant for license renewal who has been licensed in the 3-year period 
immediately preceding the application for renewal shall accumulate a minimum of 150 
hours of continuing education credit in activities approved under R 338.143 during the 3 
years immediately preceding the application for renewal. 
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  (3) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of 
compliance with the requirements of this rule.  The licensee shall maintain 
documentation of satisfying the requirements of this rule for 4 years after the date of 
applying for license renewal.  Failure to satisfy this rule is a violation of section 16221(h) 
of the code, MCL 333.16221. 
  (4) The department may select and audit a sample of licensees who have renewed their 
license and request proof of compliance with subrule (2) of this rule.  If audited, a 
licensee shall provide documentation as specified in R 338.143. 
 
 
R 338.143  Acceptable continuing education; requirements; limitations. 
  Rule 43.  (1) The 150 hours of continuing education credits required under R 338.141 
must satisfy the following requirements, as applicable: 
   (a) Credit for a continuing education program or activity that is identical or 
substantially equivalent to a program or activity for which the licensee has already earned 
credit during the renewal period cannot be granted. 
   (b) A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education credit must be earned in medical 
ethics. 
   (c) For license renewals filed December 20, 2017 or later, a minimum of 3 hours of 
continuing education credit must be earned in pain and symptom management under 
section 17533(2) of the code, MCL 333.17533.  At least 1 of the 3 hours must include 
controlled substances prescribing.  Continuing education hours in pain and symptom 
management may include, but are not limited to, any of the following areas:  
     (i) Public health burden of pain. 
     (ii) Ethics and health policy related to pain. 
     (iii) Michigan pain and controlled substance laws. 
     (iv) Pain definitions. 
     (v) Basic sciences related to pain including pharmacology. 
     (vi) Clinical sciences related to pain. 
     (vii) Specific pain conditions. 
     (viii) Clinical physician communication related to pain. 
     (ix) Management of pain, including evaluation and treatment and non-
pharmacological and pharmacological management. 
     (x) Ensuring quality pain care and controlled substances prescribing. 
     (xi) Michigan programs and resources relevant to pain. 
   (d) A minimum of 60 continuing education credits must be obtained through category 1 
programs listed in subrule (2) of this rule. 
  (2) The board considers any of the following activities as acceptable category 1 
continuing education: 
 Activity and Proof of Completion Number of Continuing Education 

Hours Granted/Allowed for the 
Activity 

(a) Attendance at or participating in a 
continuing education program or 
activity related to the practice of 
osteopathic medicine, including, but is 

The number of continuing education 
hours for a specific program or 
activity is the number of hours 
assigned by the sponsoring 
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not limited to, live, in-person 
programs, journal articles with a self-
study component, interactive or 
monitored teleconferences, audio 
conferences, web-based programs, or 
online programs approved or offered 
by any of the following organizations: 
 
- American Osteopathic Association.  
- Michigan Osteopathic Association. 
 
If audited, a licensee shall provide a 
copy of a letter or certificate of 
completion showing the licensee’s 
name, number of credits earned, 
sponsor name or the name of the 
organization that approved the 
program or activity for continuing 
education credit, and the date or dates 
on which the program or activity was 
completed. 

organization for the specific program 
or activity.  A minimum of 40 hours 
of continuing education credit must 
be earned in this activity.  A 
maximum of 150 hours of continuing 
education credit may be earned for 
this activity in each renewal period. 
 

(b) Attendance at or participating in a 
continuing education program or 
activity related to the practice of 
osteopathic medicine including, but 
not limited to, live, in-person 
programs, journal articles with a self-
study component, interactive or 
monitored teleconferences, audio 
conferences, web-based programs, or 
online programs approved or offered 
by any of the following organizations: 
 
- American Medical Association. 
- Accreditation Council for 
Continuing Medical Education. 
- Michigan State Medical Society. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide a 
copy of a letter or certificate of 
completion showing the licensee’s 
name, number of credits earned, 
sponsor name or the name of the 
organization that approved the 
program or activity for continuing 
education credit, and the date or dates 

The number of continuing education 
hours for a specific program or 
activity is the number of hours 
assigned by the sponsoring 
organization for the specific program 
or activity.  A maximum of 110 
hours of continuing education credit 
may be earned for this activity in a 
renewal period. 
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on which the program or activity was 
completed. 

(c) Taking and passing a specialty board 
certification or recertification 
examination for a specialty board 
recognized by the American 
Osteopathic Association, the 
American Board of Medical 
Specialties, or the American Board of 
Physician Specialties. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide 
proof from the specialty board of the 
successful passing of the examination. 

A specialty board certification or 
recertification examination 
successfully passed during the 
renewal period is granted 50 hours of 
continuing education credit.  A 
maximum of 50 hours of continuing 
education credit may be earned for 
this activity in each renewal period. 

(d) Successfully completing an activity 
that is required for maintenance of a 
specialty certification for a specialty 
board recognized by the American 
Osteopathic Association, the 
American Board of Medical 
Specialties, or the American Board of 
Physician Specialties that does not 
satisfy the requirements of subdivision 
(a) or (b) of this subrule. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide 
proof from the specialty board that the 
activity was required for maintenance 
of certification, that the activity was 
successfully completed, and the date 
of completion. 

One hour of continuing education 
credit is granted for every 60 minutes 
spent on the activity.  A maximum of 
30 hours of continuing education 
credit may be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period. 

(e) Serving as a teacher, lecturer, 
preceptor, or moderator-participant in 
a medical education or training 
program that satisfies the standards 
adopted under R 338.121.  
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide a 
letter from the program director 
verifying the licensee’s role, length of 
lecture or lectures, and the date on 
which the lecture or lectures were 
held. 

Two hours of continuing education 
credit is granted for each scheduled 
lecture or clinical consultation.  
Additional credit for preparation of 
the lecture cannot be granted.  A 
maximum of 90 hours of continuing 
education credit may be earned for 
this activity in each renewal period. 

(f) Conducting a formal inspection of an 
osteopathic medical education or 
training program that satisfies the 

Five hours of continuing education 
credit is granted per inspection.  A 
maximum of 90 hours of continuing 
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standards adopted under R 338.121 or 
conducting clinical examinations of 
osteopathic specialty boards 
recognized by the American 
Osteopathic Association. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide 
documentation from the accrediting 
organization verifying the licensee’s 
role and participation in the 
inspection. 

education credit may be earned for 
this activity in each renewal period. 

(g) Participating in any of the following 
committees: 
 
- A peer-review committee dealing 
with quality patient care as it relates to 
the practice of osteopathic medicine 
and surgery. 
- A committee dealing with utilization 
review as it relates to the practice of 
osteopathic medicine.  
- A health care organization 
committee with patient care issues 
related to the practice of osteopathic 
medicine. 
- A national or state committee, board, 
council, or association related to the 
practice of osteopathic medicine. 
 
A committee, board, council, or 
association is considered acceptable 
under these rules if it enhances the 
participant’s knowledge and 
understanding of the practice of 
osteopathic medicine.  If audited, the 
licensee shall provide a letter from an 
organization official verifying the 
licensee’s participation in not less than 
50% of the regularly scheduled 
meetings. 

Fifteen hours for each committee per 
year is granted.  A maximum of 90 
hours of continuing education credit 
may be earned for this activity in 
each renewal period. 

(h) Providing individual supervision for a 
disciplinary limited doctor of 
osteopathic medicine and surgery. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide 
an affidavit from the disciplinary 

One hour of continuing education 
credit is granted for each 60 minutes 
spent consulting or reviewing the 
disciplined licensee’s work.  A 
maximum of 50 hours of continuing 
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limited doctor of osteopathic medicine 
and surgery who received the 
supervision.  The affidavit must attest 
to the licensee’s role as supervisor and 
the number of hours spent providing 
supervision to the disciplinary limited 
doctor of osteopathic medicine and 
surgery. 

education credit may be earned for 
this activity per renewal period. 

(i) Participating in a postgraduate training 
program that satisfies the requirements 
under R 338.121(2) or (4).  To receive 
credit the licensee shall enroll in the 
program a minimum of 5 months per 
year.  
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide a 
letter from the program director 
verifying the dates that the licensee 
was enrolled in the program. 

Fifty continuing education credits 
per year are granted.  A maximum of 
150 credits per renewal period may 
be earned for this activity in each 
renewal period. 

(j) Publication of a scientific article 
relating to the practice of osteopathic 
medicine in a peer-reviewed journal or 
periodical. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide a 
copy of the publication that identifies 
the licensee as the author or a 
publication acceptance letter and 
documentation  

Ten hours of continuing education 
credit is granted for serving as the 
primary author.  Five hours of 
continuing education credit is 
granted for serving as a secondary 
author.  Under subrule (1)(a) of this 
rule, credit for an article is granted 
only once per renewal period.  A 
maximum of 90 hours of continuing 
education credit may be earned for 
this activity in a renewal period. 

(k) Initial publication of a chapter or a 
portion of a chapter related to the 
practice of osteopathic medicine in 
either of the following textbooks: 
 
- A professional health care textbook. 
- A peer-reviewed textbook. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall provide a 
copy of the publication that identifies 
the licensee as the author or a 
publication acceptance letter. 

Ten hours of continuing education 
credit is granted for serving as the 
primary author.  Five hours of 
continuing education credit is 
granted for serving as a secondary 
author.  A maximum of 90 hours of 
continuing education credit may be 
earned for this activity in each 
renewal period.  Under subrule (1)(a) 
of this rule, credit for publication is 
granted once per renewal period. 

  (3) The board considers initial presentation of a scientific exhibit, poster, or paper to a 
professional osteopathic medicine organization as acceptable category 2 continuing 
education.  Ten hours of continuing education credit is granted for each presentation.  No 
additional credit is granted for preparation of the presentation.  A maximum of 90 hours 
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of continuing education credit may be earned for this activity in each renewal period.  
Under subrule (1)(a) of this rule, credit for a presentation is granted once per renewal 
period.  If audited, the licensee shall provide a copy of the document presented with proof 
of the presentation or a letter from the program sponsor verifying the date of presentation. 


