
 

August 28, 2020 

DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 
 

DIRECTOR’S OFFICE 
 

MASSAGE THERAPY - GENERAL RULES 
 

Filed with the secretary of state on April 1, 2021 
 

These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless 
adopted under section 33, 44, or 45a(6) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 
1969 PA 306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a.  Rules adopted under these sections 

become effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state. 
 

(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory affairs 
by sections 16145, 16148, 16287, 17959, 17961, 17963, and 17965 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16287, 333.17959, 333.17961, 333.17963, 
and 333.17965, and Executive Reorganization Order Nos.  1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 
2011-4, MCL  338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030)  

 
R 338.701, R 338.722, R 338.724, R 338.726, R 338.732, R 338.734, R 338.735, R 338.736, 
R 338.737, R 338.738, R 338.739, R 338.741, and R 338.751 of the Michigan Administrative 
Code are amended, R 338.702 and R 338.722a are added, and R 338.752 is rescinded, as 
follows: 

 
PART 1. GENERAL RULES 

 
R 338.701 Definitions. 
  Rule 1.  (1)  As used in these rules: 
    (a) "Board" means the Michigan board of massage therapy created under section 17955 of 
the code, MCL 333.17955. 
    (b) “Classroom instruction” means  50 to 60 minutes of educational instruction, which 
constitutes 1 hour of classroom instruction, earned in compliance with the requirements of 
section 17959(3) of the code, MCL 333.17959. 
    (c)  "Code" means the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 to 333.25211. 
    (d)  "Department" means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs. 
    (e)  “Members of the public” mean individuals who are not currently enrolled in the 
massage therapy student’s supervised curriculum. 
  (2)  Except as otherwise defined in these rules, the terms defined in the code have the same 
meaning when used in these rules. 
 
R 338.702  Telehealth. 
  Rule 2.  (1)  Consent for treatment must be obtained before providing a telehealth service 
pursuant to section 16284 of the code, MCL 333.16284. 
  (2)  Evidence of consent for treatment must be maintained in a patient’s medical record and 
retained in compliance with section 16213 of the code, MCL 333.16213. 
  (3)  A massage therapist providing any telehealth service shall do both of the following: 
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    (a)  Act within the scope of his or her practice. 
    (b)  Exercise the same standard of care applicable to a traditional, in-person health care 
service. 

 
PART 2.  EDUCATION 

 
R 338.722  Supervised curriculum for students enrolled before August 1, 2017; for students 
enrolled on or after August 1, 2017 but before January 10, 2020; requirements. 
  Rule 22.  (1)  As used in the rule, “supervised curriculum” means a massage therapy 
curriculum that meets the requirements of this rule and is taught in a school as defined in 
section 17951(1)(e) of the code, MCL 333.17951. 
  (2)  For students enrolled before August 1, 2017, a supervised curriculum must include, at a 
minimum, 500 hours of courses or coursework and both of the following: 
    (a)  Classroom instruction including both of the following: 
      (i)  Forty hours performing massage therapy services for members of the public in a 
supervised student clinic that meets all of the requirements of  R 338.724. 

(ii)  Two hundred hours of massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application 
instruction. 
    (b)  Classroom instruction including all of the following: 
      (i)  One hundred twenty-five hours of instruction on the body systems that include 
anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology. 

(ii)  Forty hours of pathology.  
(iii)  Ten hours of business, professional practice, or ethics instruction with a minimum of 

6 hours in ethics. 
(iv)  Eighty-five hours of instruction in an area or related field, as determined by the 

school, that completes the massage therapy program of study. 
  (3)  For students enrolled on or after August 1, 2017 but before January 10, 2020, a 
supervised curriculum must include, at a minimum, 625 hours of courses or coursework and 
both of the following: 
    (a)  Classroom instruction including both of the following: 
      (i)  Forty hours performing massage therapy services for members of the public in a 
supervised student clinic that meets all of the requirements of R 338.724.  
      (ii)  Two hundred hours of massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application 
instruction. 
    (b)  Classroom instruction including all of the following: 
      (i)  One hundred twenty-five hours of instruction on the body systems that include 
anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology. 

(ii)  Forty hours of pathology.  
(iii)  Ten hours of business, professional practice, or ethics instruction with a minimum of 

6 hours in ethics. 
(iv)  Two hundred ten hours of instruction in an area or related field, as determined by the 

school, that completes the massage therapy program of study. 
  
338.722a  Supervised curriculum for students enrolled on or after January 10, 2020;  
requirements. 
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  Rule 22a.   (1)  As used in this rule, “supervised curriculum” means a massage therapy 
curriculum that meets the requirements of this rule and is approved by the board pursuant to 
R 338.726. 
  (2) For students enrolled on or after January 10, 2020, a supervised curriculum must 
include, at a minimum, 625 hours of courses or coursework and satisfy both of the following: 
    (a)  Classroom instruction including both of the following: 
      (i)  Seventy-five hours performing massage therapy services for members of the public in 
a supervised student clinic that meets all of the requirements of R 338.724.  
      (ii)  Two hundred hours of massage and bodywork assessment, theory, and application 
instruction. 
    (b)  Classroom instruction including all of the following: 
      (i) One hundred twenty-five hours of instruction on the body systems that include 
anatomy, physiology, and kinesiology.  

(ii)  Forty hours of pathology. 
(iii)  Twenty-five hours of business, professional practice, or ethics instruction with a 

minimum of 10 hours in ethics. 
(iv)  One hundred sixty hours of instruction in an area or related field, as determined by 

the school, that completes the massage therapy program of study.  
 

R 338.724  Supervised student clinic; requirements.  
  Rule 24.  (1)  A student shall have completed a minimum of 20 hours of courses or 
coursework in pathology before participating in a supervised student clinic. 
  (2) A supervised student clinic must satisfy all of the following requirements: 
    (a)  If a student was enrolled before January 10, 2020, all supervised clinic hours must be 
held on school premises.  If the student was enrolled on or after January 10, 2020, a 
minimum of 55 supervised clinic hours must be held on school premises.  A maximum of 20 
supervised clinic hours may be held off school premises. 
    (b)  The clinic must be supervised by a licensed massage therapist who is a faculty 
member of the school offering the supervised curriculum. The supervising massage therapist 
shall be present on the premises and be readily accessible to the students at all times during 
the clinic. 
    (c)  The ratio of students to supervising massage therapists must not exceed 15 students to 
1 supervising massage therapist.  
  (3)  A supervising massage therapist shall ensure that a student possesses the appropriate 
education, experience, and skills before allowing the student to provide a massage to any 
member of the public during a supervised student clinic. 

 
R 338.726  Educational standards; adoption by reference. 
  Rule 26. The board approves a massage therapy supervised curriculum that meets the 
requirements of R 338.722a and complies with 1 of the following: 
  (a)  Is offered by a National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 
(NCBTMB) assigned school that is researched and approved by the NCBTMB and meets the 
NCBTMB’s minimum curriculum requirements.   
  (b)  Is accredited by the accrediting body of the region in which the institution is located 
and the accrediting body meets either the recognition standards and criteria of the Council for 
Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) or the recognition procedures and criteria of the 
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United States Department of Education.  The board adopts by reference the procedures and 
criteria for recognizing accrediting agencies of the United States Department of Education, 
effective July 1, 2010, as contained in 34 CFR 602 (2010), and the policies and procedures 
for recognition of accrediting organizations of the CHEA, effective September 24, 2018.  
Copies of the standards and criteria of the CHEA and the United States Department of 
Education are available for inspection and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the 
Board of Massage Therapy, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Department of Licensing and 
Regulatory Affairs, 611 West Ottawa, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909.  The 
CHEA recognition standards may also be obtained at no cost from the council’s website at 
http://www.chea.org.  The federal recognition criteria may also be obtained at no cost from 
the website for the United States Department of Education Office of Postsecondary 
Education at http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/OPE/index.html. 

 
PART 3.  LICENSURE 

 
R 338.732  Training standards for identifying victims of human trafficking; requirements. 
  Rule 32.  (1)  Pursuant to sections 16148 and 17060 of the code, MCL 333.16148 and 
333.17060, an individual who is licensed or seeking licensure shall complete training in 
identifying victims of human trafficking that meets the following standards: 
    (a)  Training content that covers all of the following: 
      (i)  Understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in the United States.  

(ii)  Identifying victims of human trafficking in health care settings.   
(iii)  Identifying the warning signs of human trafficking in health care settings for adults 

and minors. 
(iv)  Identifying resources for reporting the suspected victims of human trafficking. 

    (b)  Acceptable providers or methods of training include any of the following: 
      (i)  Training offered by a nationally recognized or state-recognized health-related 
organization. 

(ii)  Training offered by, or in conjunction with, a state or federal agency.  
(iii)  Training obtained in an educational program that has been approved by the board for 

initial licensure, or by a college or university. 
(iv)  Reading an article related to the identification of victims of human trafficking that 

meets the requirements of subdivision (a) of this subrule and is published in a peer review 
journal, health care journal, or professional or scientific journal. 
    (c)  Acceptable modalities of training include any of the following: 
      (i)  Teleconference or webinar. 

(ii)  Online presentation. 
(iii)  Live presentation. 
(iv)  Printed or electronic media. 

  (2)  The department may select and audit a sample of individuals and request documentation 
of proof of completion of training.   If audited by the department, an individual shall provide 
an acceptable proof of completion of training, including either of the following: 
    (a)  Proof of completion certificate issued by the training provider that includes the date, 
provider name, name of training, and individual’s name.    
    (b)  A self-certification statement by an individual.  The certification statement must 
include the individual’s name and either of the following: 
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      (i)  For training completed pursuant to subrule (1)(b)(i) to (iii) of this rule, the date, 
training provider name, and name of training. 

(ii)  For training completed pursuant to subrule (1)(b)(iv) of this rule, the title of article, 
author, publication name of peer review journal, health care journal, or professional or 
scientific journal, and date, volume, and issue of publication, as applicable. 
  (3)  Pursuant to section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, the requirements specified in 
subrule (1) of this rule apply to all license renewals and for initial licenses issued after March 
14, 2022. 

 
R 338.734  Examinations; passing scores. 
  Rule 34.  An applicant for licensure shall pass either of the following: 
  (a)  The Massage and Bodywork Licensure Examination (MBLEX), or its replacement, 
offered by the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards (FSMTB).  The passing score for 
the MBLEX is the passing score recommended by the FSMTB. 
  (b)  The National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork 
(NCETMB) offered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and 
Bodywork (NCBTMB), if taken before November 1, 2014.  The passing score for the 
NCETMB is the passing score recommended by the NCBTMB.  

 
R 338.735  Licensure; massage therapist; requirements. 
  Rule 35.  An applicant for a massage therapist license by examination shall submit the 
required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the department. In addition 
to satisfying the requirements of the code and these rules, the applicant shall satisfy both of 
the following requirements: 
  (a)  Have successfully completed a supervised curriculum that satisfies the requirements in 
R 338.722 or R 338.722a, as applicable. 
  (b)  Pass an examination required under R 338.734. 

  
R 338.736  Foreign-trained applicants; licensure; requirements. 
  Rule 36.  An applicant for a massage therapist license who completed a massage therapy 
curriculum outside of the United States shall submit the required fee and a completed 
application on a form provided by the department. In addition to satisfying the requirements 
of the code and these rules, the applicant shall satisfy all of the following requirements: 
  (a)  Have successfully completed a massage therapy curriculum that is substantially 
equivalent to a supervised curriculum that meets the requirements in R 338.722 or R 
338.722a, as applicable.  Evidence of having completed a massage therapy curriculum that is 
substantially equivalent to a supervised curriculum includes an evaluation of the applicant’s 
education by a recognized and accredited credential evaluation agency that is a member of 
the National Association of Credential Evaluation Services.  
  (b)  Pass an examination required under R 338.734. 

   
R 338.737   Licensure by endorsement; requirements. 
  Rule 37.  (1)  An applicant for a license by endorsement shall hold an active massage 
therapist license or registration in another state, country, jurisdiction, territory, or province at 
the time of application, be of good moral character, and be at least 18 years of age.   
  (2)  The applicant shall submit the required fee and a completed application on a form 
provided by the department.    



6 

 

  (3)  An applicant who has held an active massage therapist license in another state, country, 
jurisdiction, territory, or province for 3 years or more preceding the date of application 
satisfies the requirements for licensure pursuant to section 19759(2) of the code, MCL 
333.17959.   
  (4)  An applicant who has held an active massage therapist license in another state, country, 
jurisdiction, territory, or province for less than 3 years immediately preceding the date of 
application shall satisfy both of the following requirements: 
    (a)  Have successfully completed a supervised curriculum that meets the requirements in R 
338.722, R 338.722a, or R 338.736(a), as applicable. 
    (b)  Have passed an examination required under R 338.734. 
  (5)  An applicant shall have his or her license, certification, or registration in good standing 
verified by the licensing, certifying, or registering agency of each state, country, jurisdiction, 
territory, or province in which the applicant holds, or has ever held, a license, certification, or 
registration as a massage therapist. If applicable, verification must include the record of any 
disciplinary action taken or pending against the applicant. 

 
   

R 338.738  Relicensure. 
  Rule 38. An applicant whose license has lapsed may be relicensed upon submission  
of the appropriate documentation as noted in the table below: 
  (1)  For a massage therapist who has let his 
or her Michigan license lapse and is not 
currently licensed in another state country, 
jurisdiction, territory, or province. 

Lapsed 
less than  
3 years 

Lapsed 3 years 
or more 

    (a) Application and fee: submit a 
completed application on a form 
provided by the department, together 
with the required fee. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (b)  Good moral character: establish that 
he or she is of good moral character 
as defined under sections 1 to 7 of 
1974 PA 381, MCL 338.41 to 
338.47. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (c)  Fingerprints: submit fingerprints as 
required under section 16174(3) of 
the code, MCL 333.16174. 

 √ 
 

    (d)  Continuing education:  submit proof 
of having completed 45 hours of 
continuing education that satisfy the 
requirements of R 338.739 and R 
338.741 in courses and programs 
approved by the board and earned 
within the 3-year period immediately 
preceding the application for 
relicensure. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (e)  Examination:  passage of the  √ 
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examination approved pursuant to R 
338.734 within 3 years of 
relicensure. 

 

    (f) License verification:  an applicant’s 
license in good standing must be 
verified by the licensing agency of 
each state, country, jurisdiction, 
territory, or province in which the 
applicant holds or ever held a license 
as a massage therapist.  If applicable, 
verification  must include the record 
of any disciplinary action taken or 
pending against the applicant.   

 

√ 
 

√ 
 

  (2)  For a massage therapist who has let his 
or her Michigan license lapse and is currently 
licensed in another state, country, 
jurisdiction, territory, or province 

Lapsed 
less than  
3 years 

Lapsed 3 years 
or more 

    (a) Application and fee: submit a 
completed application on a form 
provided by the department, together 
with the required fee. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (b) Good moral character: establish that 
he or she is of good moral character 
as defined under sections 1 to 7 of 
1974 PA 381, MCL 338.41 to 
338.47. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (c) Fingerprints: submit fingerprints as 
required under section 16174(3) of 
the code, MCL 333.16174. 

 
 

√ 
 

    (d) Continuing education:  submit proof 
of having completed 45 hours of 
continuing education that satisfy the 
requirements of R 338.739 and R 
338.741 in courses and programs 
approved by the board and earned 
within the 3-year period immediately 
preceding the application for 
relicensure. 

√ 
 

√ 
 

    (e) License verification:  an applicant’s 
license in good standing  must be 
verified by the licensing agency of 
each state, country, jurisdiction, 
territory, or province in which the 
applicant holds or ever held a license 
as a massage therapist.  If applicable, 

√ 
 

√ 
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verification  must include the record 
of any disciplinary action taken or 
pending against the applicant.   

 

R 338.739  License renewals; massage therapist; requirements; applicability. 
  Rule 39.  (1)  An applicant for license renewal shall accumulate not less than 18 hours of 
continuing education in activities approved by the board under these rules during each 
license cycle. 
  (2)  Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of 
compliance with the requirements of this rule. A licensee shall retain documentation of 
meeting the requirements of this rule for a period of 5 years from the date of application for 
license renewal. Failure to comply with this rule is a violation of section 16221(h) of the 
code, MCL 333.16221. 
  (3)  The requirements of this rule do not apply if a licensee has been licensed for less than 3 
years.   
  (4)  A request for a waiver pursuant to section 16205 of the code, MCL 333.16205, must be 
received by the department before the expiration date of the license.   
  (5) The department may select and audit a sample of licensees who have renewed their 
licenses and request proof of compliance with subrule (1) of this rule.  

  
PART 4.  CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 
R 338.741  Acceptable continuing education; requirements; limitations. 
  Rule 41. (1) A licensee may not earn more than 12 hours of continuing education during a 
24-hour period.   
  (2) A licensee may not earn credit for a continuing education program or activity that is 
identical or substantially identical to a program or activity the licensee has already earned 
credit for during that license cycle. 
  (3) The continuing education credit hours earned during 1 license cycle may not be carried 
forward to the next license cycle. 
  (4) A licensee may not earn credit for continuing education programs or activities that 
primarily focus on practices excluded from licensure under section 17957 of the code, MCL 
333.17957. 
  (5)  A licensee shall earn at least 1 hour of continuing education in the area of pain and 
symptom management. Continuing education hours in pain and symptom management may 
include, but are not limited to, courses in behavior management, behavior modification, 
stress management, and clinical applications, as they relate to professional practice. 
  (6)  A licensee shall earn at least 2 hours of continuing education in the area of professional 
ethics or boundaries. 
  (7)  The board approves any of the following as acceptable continuing education: 

 
ACCEPTABLE CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES 

 Activity and Proof Required Number of continuing 
education hours earned 
per activity 

  (a) Attendance at or participation in a continuing education The number of 
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program or activity related to the practice of massage 
therapy, or any non-clinical subject relevant to massage 
therapy practice, education, administration, management, 
or science, which includes, but is not limited to, live, in-
person programs; interactive or monitored teleconference, 
audio-conference, or web-based programs; online 
programs; and journal articles or other self-study programs 
approved or offered by any of the following: 

 The NCBTMB, or a sponsor approved by the 
NCBTMB.  

 The FSMTB, or a sponsor approved by the 
FSMTB.  

 A massage therapy school or program approved 
pursuant to R 338.726.  
 

If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of a letter or 
certificate of completion showing the licensee’s name, 
number of continuing education hours earned, sponsor 
name or the name of the organization that approved the 
program or activity for continuing education credit, and 
the date on which the program was held or activity 
completed. 

continuing education 
hours earned is the 
number of hours 
approved by the sponsor 
or the approving 
organization for the 
specific program or 
activity. A maximum of 
18 hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

  (b) Initial presentation of a continuing education program 
related to the practice of massage therapy provided to a 
state, regional, national, or international massage therapy 
organization.  

 
To receive credit, the presentation must not be a part of the 
licensee’s regular job description and must be approved or 
offered for continuing education credit by any of the 
following: 

 The NCBTMB, or a sponsor approved by the 
NCBTMB. 

 The FSMTB, or a sponsor approved by the 
FSMTB. 

 A massage therapy school or program approved 
pursuant to R 338.726.  
 

If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the 
presentation notice or advertisement showing the date of 
the presentation, the licensee’s name listed as a presenter, 
and the name of the organization that approved or offered 
the presentation for continuing education credit. 

Two hours of continuing 
education are earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
presentation. No 
additional credit is earned 
for preparation of a 
presentation. A maximum 
of 6 hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period.  

  (c) Initial presentation of a scientific exhibit, poster, scientific 
paper, or clinical demonstration to a massage therapy 
organization.  

Two hours of continuing 
education are earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
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To receive credit, the presentation must not be part of the 
licensee’s regular job description or performed in the 
normal course of the licensee’s employment.  

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the 
document presented with evidence of presentation or a 
letter from the program sponsor verifying the length and 
date of the presentation.  

presentation. No 
additional credit is earned 
for preparation of a 
presentation. A maximum 
of 6 hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period.  

  (d) Initial publication of an article related to the practice of 
massage therapy in a non-peer reviewed journal or 
newsletter. 
 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the 
publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a 
publication acceptance letter. 

 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each article. A maximum 
of 6 hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period.  

  (e) Initial publication of a chapter related to the practice of 
massage therapy in either of the following: 

 A professional or health care textbook. 
 A peer-reviewed textbook. 

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of the 
publication that identifies the licensee as the author or a 
publication acceptance letter. 

 

Five hours of continuing 
education are earned for 
serving as the primary 
author. Two hours of 
continuing education are 
earned for serving as the 
secondary author.  

  (f) Identifying, researching, and resolving an event or issue 
related to clinical or professional practice.  

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a completed 
experiential activity form provided by the department for 
each issue or event. 

 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes 
spent identifying, 
researching, and 
resolving the issue or 
event. A maximum of 5 
hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period. 

  (g) Participating on a state or national committee, board, 
council, or association related to the field of massage 
therapy. A committee, board, council, or association is 
considered acceptable by the board if it enhances the 
participant’s knowledge and understanding of the field of 
massage therapy. 

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit documentation 
verifying the licensee’s participation in at least 50% of the 

Five hours of continuing 
education are earned for 
each committee, board, 
council, or association. A 
maximum of 10 hours of 
continuing education may 
be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period.  
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regularly scheduled meetings of the committee, board, 
council, or association.  

  (h) Participating on any of the following: 
 A peer review committee dealing with quality 

patient care as it relates to the practice of 
massage therapy. 

 A committee dealing with utilization review as 
it relates to the practice of massage therapy. 

 A health care organization committee dealing 
with patient care issues related to the practice 
of massage therapy. 

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a letter from an 
organization official verifying the licensee’s participation 
on the committee. 

Five hours of continuing 
education are earned for 
participating on a 
committee. A maximum 
of 10 hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period. 

  (i) Participating in peer supervision or consultation with 
professional colleagues. 

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit an affidavit from the 
colleague that was involved in the peer supervision or 
consultation. The affidavit must attest to the licensee’s role 
and the number of hours the licensee spent participating in 
these activities. 

 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
participation. A 
maximum of 6 hours of 
continuing education may 
be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period. 

  (j) Participating in case conferences, including 
multidisciplinary conferences, for training purposes.  

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a letter from the 
administrative or clinical supervisor verifying the types of 
conferences and the number of hours the licensee spent 
participating in the conferences. 

 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
participation. A 
maximum of 4 hours of 
continuing education may 
be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period. 

  (k) Providing individual supervision for a student in 
supervised curriculum beyond the hours required by R 
338.722. Supervision provided as part of a disciplinary 
sanction may be included under this activity. 

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit an affidavit from the 
student who received the supervision. The affidavit must 
attest to the licensee’s role as a supervisor and the number 
of hours the licensee spent providing supervision to the 
student. 

 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
supervision provided 
beyond the hours of 
supervision required per 
month. A maximum of 6 
hours of continuing 
education may be earned 
for this activity in each 
renewal period. 

  (l) Participation in a panel discussion relevant to the practice 
of massage therapy in an approved continuing education 
program or an organized health care setting. 

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes 
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If audited, the licensee shall submit documentation from 
the organizer of the panel discussion verifying the topic of 
the panel discussion and the number of hours the licensee 
spent participating in the discussion. 

 

spent participating in the 
panel discussion. A 
maximum of 4 hours of 
continuing education may 
be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period. 

 (m) Obtaining a new or participation in training to maintain 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation or bloodborne pathogen 
certification.  

 
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy of a certificate 
of completion showing the licensee’s name, number of 
continuing education hours earned, sponsor name, and the 
date on which the program was held or activity completed.  

One hour of continuing 
education is earned for 
each 50 to 60 minutes of 
participation. A 
maximum of 4 hours of 
continuing education may 
be earned for this activity 
in each renewal period. 

 
PART 5.  PROFESSIONAL ETHICS  

 
R 338.751  Professional ethics. 
  Rule 51.  A licensee shall maintain professional boundaries and exercise professional ethics 
in all interactions including, but not limited to, the following: 
  (a)  The licensee shall provide high quality care within the boundaries of the licensee’s 
professional competence, based on education, training, and experience. This includes, but is 
not limited to, the licensee only providing massage therapy services that ensure the safety of 
and benefit to the client. The licensee shall refer the client to other healthcare professionals 
when appropriate for the client’s health and well-being. 
  (b)  The licensee shall respect the client’s right to modify or discontinue any massage 
therapy treatment at any time. 
  (c)  The licensee shall not engage in harassment or discrimination based on age, gender, 
gender identity, race, ethnicity, national origin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, or any 
basis proscribed by law.  
  (d)  The licensee shall terminate a massage therapy session with a client who suggests or 
requests that the licensee engage in conduct that is inappropriate, unsafe, or unethical.   
  (e)  The licensee shall not solicit or engage in sexual conduct with a current client, 
supervisee, or student. 
  (f)  The licensee shall not exploit a current or former client, supervisee, or student to further 
the licensee’s personal, religious, political, business, or financial interests. 
  (g)  The licensee shall keep and maintain an understandable record for each client in 
compliance with the requirements of section 16213 of the code, MCL 333.16213.   
 
R 338.752  Rescinded. 


