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DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
 

BUREAU OF LEGAL SERVICES 
 

PROCEDURE FOR CONDUCTING HEARINGS 
 
 
(By authority of Act No. 197 of the Public Acts of 1952, as amended, being S24.101 

et seq. of the Michigan Compiled Laws) 
 
 
R  11.1   Definitions. 
  Rule 1. The term "secretary of state" as used in these   rules   shall  be deemed to 

mean: 
  (a) The secretary of state or the deputy secretary of state. 
  (b) Any employee  of  the  department  of  state  charged   by  law  with conducting 

hearings. 
  (c) Any employee of the department of state authorized by the secretary of state to 

conduct any hearing or hearings. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.2   Notice of hearing. 
Rule 2. Notification of any hearing before the secretary of  state  will be by registered 

mail, and  will   state   the   date,   time,   place,   issues involved and reasons for holding 
said hearing. Such notice will be mailed at least 10 days prior to said  hearing.  Unless   
indicated   otherwise,   all hearings will be held in the office of the secretary   of   state,   
State Capitol, Lansing, Michigan. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.3   Appearance. 
Rule 3. When an appearance is made at a hearing, it shall be made either in person or 

by a duly authorized representative, or by counsel. 
 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.4   Answer; oral statement on charges; written briefs or  arguments. 
Rule 4. The person or persons who have been  served  with   a   notice   of hearing 

may, at his option, file a written answer  thereto   prior   to   the date set for hearing, or at 
said hearing may appear and   present   an   oral statement on the charges contained in the 
notice of  hearing.  When   written briefs or arguments are  presented,  a  copy  shall  be   
served   upon   the secretary of state and opposite parties at least 5 days prior  to  the   
date set for the hearing. 
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  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.5   Failure to appear at hearing. 
Rule 5. If the person or persons who have been previously  served  with   a notice of 

hearing fail to appear at a noticed hearing,   the   secretary   of state may proceed with a 
hearing of the cases brought before him and  may, on the evidence presented, make his 
decision. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.6   Statement of facts. 
Rule 6. Any person who requests a hearing, shall  submit  in  writing   a full and 

accurate statement of facts upon which his request is  made  to  the secretary of state and 
to all interested parties  and   such   statement   of facts shall be accepted in evidence. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.7   Adjournment or continuance of hearing. 
Rule 7. No hearing shall be adjourned or continued, except  upon  order  of the 

secretary of state or his agent conducting the   hearing.   All   motions and requests for an 
adjournment, or continuance, shall be accompanied by a statement of the reasons 
therefor. No motion or request for an adjournment or continuance will be considered 
unless same is filed with  the   secretary  of state at least 5 days prior to   the   date   
assigned   for  the   hearing, except that the secretary of state or his agent may   accept   
such   request during a hearing or may waive the 5-day notification if  proper  showing   
is made that for reasons not within the control  of  the   person   or   parties making the 
motion or request, the motion or request  could   not   be   filed within such time limit. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.8   Stipulations. 
Rule 8. The parties to any hearing before the secretary of  state,  may, by stipulation 

in writing, filed with the secretary of state,  agree   upon  the facts or any portion of  the  
facts  involved  in  the   controversy,   which stipulation shall be regarded and used as 
evidence on  the  hearing.  Parties are requested to thus agree upon the facts whenever 
practicable. 

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 
R  11.9   Depositions. 
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Rule 9. Depositions shall only be taken upon written   authority   of   the secretary of 
state when it appears to the secretary of state   that   it   is impractical  or  impossible  to  
otherwise  obtain   the   evidence.    Where depositions are permitted, they shall be taken 
according to  the  rules   for taking depositions in civil cases in the state of  Michigan,  
being  Michigan Statutes Annotated, Section 27.854, et seq., with  all   parties   given   an 
opportunity to cross-examine the witness under oath.  

 
  History:  1979 AC. 
 
 


