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DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS 

 

MICHIGAN PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 

 

EMERGENCY 9-1-1 SERVICE STANDARDS OF TRAINING 

 

(By authority conferred on the Michigan public service commission by sections 

408(4)(c) and 413 of 1986 PA 32, MCL 484.1408 and 484.1413) 

 

 

PART 1:  GENERAL PROVISIONS 

 

R 484.801  Applicability. 

   Rule 1. (1) These rules apply to a primary public safety answering point (psap) as 

defined by the emergency 9-1-1 service enabling act, 1986 PA 32, MCL 484.1101 to 

484.1717. 

   (2)  All new and existing telecommunicators of a Michigan primary psap shall 

comply with the provisions of these rules no later than 1 year from the effective date of 

these rules.  

   (3)  All Michigan primary psaps and the emergency 9-1-1 service committee shall 

comply with the provisions of these rules no later than 1 year from the effective date of 

these rules.  

   (4) The emergency 9-1-1 service committee, as defined in section 102(e) of the act, 

may implement procedures as needed to carry out these rules. 

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 

 

R 484.802   Definitions. 

   Rule 2. As used in these rules: 

   (a)  “Act” means the emergency 9-1-1 service enabling act, 1986 PA 32, MCL 

484.1101 to 484.1717.   

   (b)  “Basic telecommunicator training” means the minimum level of training for 9-

1-1 telecommunicators who perform 9-1-1 call-taking and emergency services 

dispatching. 

   (c)  “Date of hire” means the start date of work as documented in a 

telecommunicator’s personnel record. 

   (d)  “Delinquent telecommunicator” means a trainee telecommunicator who has not 

completed the training requirements in R 484.804(2) and (4), or a designated 

telecommunicator who has not completed the requirements in R 484.805.   

   (e)  “Designated telecommunicator” means any person who has completed the 

required training within the required time frame, as specified in R 484.804 and R 

484.805.  

   (f)  “Exigent circumstance” means a crisis situation lasting not more than 2 hours 

that may arise in a primary psap, with little or no notice, in which the 9-1-1 calls cannot 

be managed without using a delinquent or undesignated telecommunicator, or other 

similarly situated employees. 
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   (g)  “In-service training” means course work approved by the committee under the 

act.   

   (h)  “Internal training” means training that is specific to a primary psap and may be 

used toward the continuing education credits for the designated telecommunicator.  

Internal training shall not be approved for funding under MCL 484.1408(4)(c).  

   (i)  “Leave of absence” means a period of time that a telecommunicator is absent 

from work, during regularly scheduled work time and that is approved by the employing 

agency. 

   (j)  “Telecommunicator” means a person answering or processing 9-1-1 calls at a 

primary psap.  

   (k)  “Trainee telecommunicator” means either of the following:  

   (i)  A person hired as a telecommunicator not more than 12 months before the 

effective date of these rules. 

   (ii)  A person hired after the effective date of these rules who has not completed the 

requirements of R 484.804(2) and (4). 

   (l)  “Undesignated telecommunicator” means a person who has not met the training 

requirements of these rules; who is not able to perform dispatch duties except in exigent 

circumstances; and, whose employing agency has been notified by the committee of the 

designation and corrective measures found in R 484.805(4).   

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 

 

PART 2: TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 

 

 

R 484.803 Training requirements exemption. 

   Rule 3. A telecommunicator employed by a primary psap for a minimum of 12 

months before the effective date of these rules is exempt from R 484.804(2) and (4), but 

shall meet the requirements of R 484.805.   

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 

 

R 484.804 Training requirements. 

   Rule 4. (1)  A trainee telecommunicator who does not meet the training exemption 

in 

R 484.803 shall comply with the training requirements in subrules (2) and (4) of this 

rule. 

   (2)  Within 18 months of the effective date of these rules, a trainee 

telecommunicator who is currently employed by a primary psap shall complete module 1 

consisting of a 40-hour basic telecommunicator training course approved by the 

committee.  Module 1 shall contain all of the following subjects:  

   (a)  An overview of public safety – police, fire, and emergency medical services. 

   (b)  Telecommunicator roles and responsibilities. 

   (c)  Legal aspects of dispatcher services. 

   (d)  Interpersonal communications. 
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   (e)  Public safety technologies. 

   (f)  Telephone techniques. 

   (g)  Call classification. 

   (h)  Radio communications. 

   (i)  Stress management. 

   (3)  A trainee telecommunicator who was hired after the effective date of these rules 

shall complete the training specified in subrule (2) of this rule within 18 months of the 

date of hire.   

   (4)  Within 24 months of the date of hire, a trainee telecommunicator who was hired 

after the effective date of these rules shall complete module 2 consisting of a 40-hour 

basic telecommunicator training course approved by the committee.  Module 2 shall 

contain 8 hours of training in each of the following subjects: 

   (a)  Domestic violence. 

   (b)  Suicide intervention. 

   (c)  9-1-1 liability. 

   (d)  Stress management. 

   (e)  Homeland security elective. 

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 

 

R 484.805 Continuing education; requirements.   

   Rule 5. (1)  Every 24 months, a designated telecommunicator shall complete 

module 3, a 24-hour designated telecommunicator training consisting of continuing 

education.  A maximum of 8 hours of the required 24 hours may be internal training.  

   (2)  All telecommunicator training shall be approved by the committee, except 

internal training which shall meet the recommendations established by the committee.  

   (3)  A designated telecommunicator classification may be maintained if a 

telecommunicator changes employing agency or, if verified, if training was obtained 

independent of employment.   

   (4)  Continuing education requirements for each 24-month period may be extended 

by the committee due to a leave of absence.  An employing agency shall communicate 

leave of absence information to the committee.  

   (5)  If a designated telecommunicator fails to complete the training in R 484.805(1) 

required under this rule, the committee shall issue to the employing agency a 

noncompliance notification, which shall require corrective measures to be completed 

within 180 days.  The notification shall also inform the employing agency that the 

designated telecommunicator is now an undesignated telecommunicator.  A 

telecommunicator remains undesignated until the committee receives proof of completed 

training or corrective measures. 

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 

 

PART 3: EXCEPTIONS 
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R 484.806 Exceptions. 

   Rule 6.  Nothing in these rules shall preclude a primary psap’s authority from using 

whatever reasonable resources are available to perform telecommunicator duties in an 

exigent circumstance.    

 
  History: 2012 AACS. 
 


