DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

RESPONSIBILITIES OF PROVIDERS OF BASIC LOCAL EXCHANGE
SERVICE THAT CEASE TO PROVIDE THE SERVICE

(By authority conferred on the public service commission by sections 202 and 213 of
the Michigan telecommunications act, 1991 PA 179, MCL 484.2202 and 484.2213)

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

R 484.1001 Applicability.

Rule 1. These rules apply to providers of basic local exchange service that cease to
provide service to any segment of end users or geographic area, go out of business, or
withdraw from this state, including the transfer of customers to other providers and the
reclaiming of unused telephone numbers.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1002 Definitions.
Rule 2. (1) As used in these rules:

(@) “Act” means the Michigan telecommunications act, 1991 PA 179, MCL
484.2101 to 484.2603.

(b) “Commission” or “MPSC” means the Michigan public service commission.

(c) “Customer” means the person that is the end subscriber of the retail
telecommunications service.

(d) “License” means a license to provide basic local exchange service issued
pursuant to the act.

(e) “Provider” means a person, firm, partnership, corporation, or other entity that
provides retail basic local exchange service.

(F) “Reclamation” means the process of removing active and non-active telephone
numbers from the inventory of a provider that ceases to provide basic local exchange
service.

(g) “Segment” means the type of customer, such as business, residential, or
interconnecting providers.

(h) “Wholesale provider” means a person, firm, partnership, corporation, or other
entity that provides a resale or local wholesale basic local exchange service product to a
provider.

(2) A term defined in the act that is not defined in this rule has the same meaning
when used in these rules.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.
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R 484.1003 Expiration.
Rule 3. These rules expire 3 years after the effective date of the rules. The
commission may, before the expiration of the rules, promulgate new rules.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

PART 2. RESPONSIBILITIES OF PROVIDERS AND WHOLESALE
PROVIDERS INVOLVED IN A DISCONNECTION DISPUTE

R 484.1004 Attempt at resolution.

Rule 4. In the case of a billing dispute between a provider and a wholesale provider,
the parties shall make a good faith effort to work with each other to determine what
portion, if any, of the bill for resale or the purchase of a local wholesale product provided
by the wholesale provider to the provider is disputed and which portion is undisputed.
The wholesale provider and the provider shall work together to resolve the billing dispute
and arrange for payment of the undisputed charges, pursuant to the agreement between
the wholesale provider and the provider.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1005 Notification of discontinuance.

Rule 5. (1) When the wholesale provider plans to disconnect a service that will
make the provider unable to furnish basic local exchange service to its customers due to a
dispute concerning resale or the purchase of a local wholesale product, the wholesale
provider shall notify the commission and the provider of this disconnection in writing not
less than 45 days after the date of the impending disconnect.

(2) Notice required under subrule (1) of this rule must include, to the extent known
by the wholesale provider, but is not limited to, all of the following:

(a) The name, address, and account number or numbers of the provider.

(b) The number and segment or segments of customers to be disconnected.

(c) An indication of whether the wholesale provider is furnishing resale service or a
local wholesale product.

(d) The reason for the disconnection.

(e) A statement or citation describing where the right to disconnect or deny service
is found, such as in an interconnection agreement or other contract.

(F) If the dispute is related to billing and charges, an estimate of the charges owed
and amounts of those charges that are disputed and undisputed and the amount required
to be repaid to avoid disruption of services.

(g) The date and time, or range of dates and times, when the wholesale provider
intends to discontinue the service.

(3) The wholesale provider shall notify the commission as soon as reasonably
practicable but no less than 1 business day before the date of the notice required by the
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provider under subrule (4) of this rule, if the notice to discontinue service to the provider
has been modified or withdrawn.

(4) Within 10 business days after receiving notice from the wholesale provider, the
provider shall notify all of its affected customers, the governor of this state, and the
commission of the discontinuance of service under 47 CFR 63.71 and any other federal
rules applicable to discontinuance of basic local exchange service. Notice to the
commission must include both of the following:

(@) A statement of the company’s prospective intent for the disposition of its
license and any tariffs on file with the commission.

(b) A list of customers being served by the provider that may be affected by the
discontinuance of service, including billing name, billing address, and service telephone
number. For non-published numbers, only the NPA-NXX must be provided. The list
must also identify end users of the provider that are public utilities, governmental
agencies, schools, or medical facilities.

(5) If the provider fails to provide the notice under subrule (4) of this rule by the
eleventh business day, the commission may post a notice of the discontinuance on its
website.

(6) These rules do not relieve a provider from any obligations it has under section
313 of the act, MCL 484.2313.

(7) The provider shall contact the commission to provide periodic updates of the
status of the disconnection and transition of its customers as requested by commission
staff.

(8) The provider shall return all deposits to customers and apply all appropriate
credits to customer accounts associated with the discontinued service within 30 days after
the discontinuance of service.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1006 Notification of transfer of customer base.

Rule 6. (1) A provider that is acquiring all or part of a customer base from another
provider shall comply with the transfer of customer base notice requirements as set forth
in 47 CFR 64.1120(e) and any other state and federal rules applicable to the transfer of all
or part of a customer base. The provider shall submit a copy of this notice to the
commission at the same time as it files its application with the Federal Communications
Commission.

(2) Notice to the commission must include both of the following:

(a) A statement of the prospective intent for the disposition of the license and any
tariff of the company that is transferring its customer base.

(b) The number and segment or segments of customers affected by the transfer.

(3) If the commission considers it necessary to protect the public interest, it may
institute a longer period of time for the transition of a customer base to another provider,
but not to exceed 60 days in length. The providers shall work together to ensure the
transition of the customer base from 1 provider to another.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.
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R 484.1007 Rescinded.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1008 Rescinded.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1009 Rescinded.

History: 2018 AACS; 2020 AACS; 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1010 Resolution of disputes between providers.
Rule 10. If a provider disputes disconnection by another provider, the providers shall
follow the appropriate procedures for resolution as set forth in their interconnection
agreement and may apply to the commission for resolution as allowable under the act.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

PART 3. CESSATION OF SERVICE TO ANY SEGMENT OF END USERS
OR GEOGRAPHIC AREA, WITHDRAWAL OF SERVICE FROM THE STATE,
TRANSFER OF CUSTOMERS TO OTHER PROVIDERS

R 484.1011 Notice of discontinuance of service to any segment of end users or
geographic area.

Rule 11. A provider of basic local exchange service or toll service that proposes to
discontinue service shall follow the requirements under section 313 of the act, MCL
484.2313. The provider shall electronically file a notice to discontinue service under this
section in the commission’s electronic docket filing system.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1012 Notice of discontinuance to the commission under section 313(5)(a)
of the act, MCL 484.2313.
Rule 12. (1) Notice to the commission under section 313(5)(a) of the act, MCL
484.2313, must include, but is not limited to, all of the following:
(a) The proposed date of the discontinuance.
(b) The geographic area, exchange, or exchanges where the discontinuance will
occur.
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(c) A list of alternative providers in the service area that offer comparable voice
service with reliable access to 9-1-1 and emergency services through any technology or
medium.

(d) The number and segment or segments of customers that will be affected by the
discontinuance.

(e) The method by which customers or interconnecting providers were notified of
the discontinuance, such as by first-class mail, within customer bills, or under the terms
of the interconnection agreement.

(F) The reason for the discontinuance.

(9) A statement of the provider’s prospective intent for the disposition of its license
and any tariffs on file with the commission.

(2) An exhibit attached to the notice in subrule (1) of this rule must include, but is
not limited to, all of the following:

(@) A copy of the section 214 of the federal telecommunications act of 1996, 47
USC 214, application filing with the Federal Communications Commission.

(b) A copy of the newspaper publication notice. The affidavit of publication from
the newspaper or newspapers must be filed separately in the docket once publication is
complete.

(c) A copy of the notice provided to customers.

(d) A copy of the notice provided to interconnecting providers, if applicable, as
provided for in section 313 of the act, MCL 484.2313. If not applicable, the provider
shall note accordingly in the notice to the commission.

(3) An incumbent local exchange carrier that proposes to discontinue service to a
geographic area, exchange, or exchanges, in addition to providing the materials listed in
subrule (2)(a) to (d) of this rule, shall provide to the commission a clear and detailed
description, including a map of the geographic boundary area to which the
discontinuance of service would take place and the segment or segments of customers the
proposed discontinuance applies.

(4) A provider that determines certain information in its notice is confidential may
file that information with the commission as provided under section 210 of the act, MCL
484.2210.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1013 Requirements for newspaper, customer and interconnecting
provider notices under section 313(5)(a) of the act, MCL 484.2313.

Rule 13. The newspaper, customer, and interconnecting provider notices required
under section 313(5)(a) of the act, MCL 484.2313, must include, but are not limited to,
all of the following:

(@) Information for customers to contact the provider.

(b) The proposed date of the discontinuance.

(c) The geographic area, exchange, or exchanges where the discontinuance will
occur.

(d) A list of alternative providers in the service area that offer comparable voice
service with reliable access to 9-1-1 and emergency services through any technology or
medium.
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(e) The MPSC docket number assigned to the notice for the discontinuance of
service and a statement that affected customers may file comments requesting that the
commission investigate the availability of comparable voice service with reliable access
to 9-1-1 and emergency service. The notice must also provide information on how to file
comments with the commission. If a provider is unable to furnish the MPSC docket
number and investigation statement information in its notices under section 313(5)(a) of
the act, MCL 484.2313, the provider shall include the MPSC docket number in its notice
under section 313(5)(b) of the act, MCL 484.2313.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1014 Notice of discontinuance to the commission under section 313(5)(b),
MCL 484.2313.

Rule 14. (1) On approval of the application filed with the Federal Communications
Commission and not less than 90 days before discontinuing service, the provider
proposing to discontinue service shall follow the notice steps in section 313(5)(b) of the
act, MCL 484.2313. The notice to the commission filed under section 313(5)(b) of the
act, MCL 484.2313, must include, but is not limited to, all of the following:

(a) The proposed date of discontinuance.

(b) The geographic area, exchange, or exchanges where the discontinuance will
occur.

(c) A list of alternative providers in the service area that offer comparable voice
service with reliable access to 9-1-1 and emergency services through any technology or
medium.

(d) The number and segment or segments of remaining customers subject to the
discontinuance.

(e) The method by which customers or interconnecting providers were provided the
second notice of the discontinuance, such as by first-class mail, within customer bills, or
under terms of the interconnection agreement.

(F) Any other relevant information pertaining to the discontinuance, such as
additional attempts made at customer outreach outside of the requirements outlined in
section 313 of the act, MCL 484.2313.

(2) An exhibit attached to the notice in subrule (1) of this rule must include, but is
not limited to, all of the following:

(@) A copy of the Federal Communications Commission public notice showing the
grant of approval of the discontinuance.

(b) A copy of the newspaper publication notice. The affidavit of publication from
the newspaper or newspapers must be filed separately in the docket once publication is
completed.

(c) A copy of the second notice to customers.

(d) A copy of the notice provided to interconnecting providers, if applicable, as
provided for in section 313 of the act, MCL 484.2313. If not applicable, the provider
shall note accordingly in the notice to the commission.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

Page 6
Courtesy of Michigan Administrative Rules



https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_10576_92306---,00.html

R 484.1015 Requirements for newspaper, customer and interconnecting
provider notices under section 313(5)(b), MCL 484.2313.

Rule 15. The newspaper, customer, and interconnecting provider notices required
under section 313(5)(b) of the act, MCL 424.2313, must include, but are not limited to,
all of the following:

(@) Information for customers to contact the provider.

(b) The proposed date of the discontinuance.

(c) The geographic area, exchange, or exchanges where the discontinuance will
occur.

(d) A list of alternative providers in the service area that offer comparable voice
service with reliable access to 9-1-1 and emergency services through any technology or
medium.

(e) The MPSC docket number assigned to the notice for the discontinuance of
service and a statement that affected customers may file comments requesting that the
commission investigate the availability of comparable voice service with reliable access
to 9-1-1 and emergency service. The notice must also provide direction on how to file
comments with the commission.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1016 Other notice of discontinuance.

Rule 16. For a discontinuance of basic local exchange service that is subject to
federal filing and notice requirements, but not subject to the requirements of section 313
of the act, MCL 484.2313, the provider is encouraged to consult with the commission to
determine the most appropriate means of notification to customers and the commission.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1017 Completion of discontinuance.

Rule 17. (1) The provider shall provide periodic updates of the status of the
discontinuance and transition of its impacted customers as requested by the commission.

(2) The provider shall return all deposits to customers and apply all appropriate
credits to customer accounts associated with the discontinued service within 30 days after
the discontinuance.

(3) On completion of the discontinuance of service, the provider shall file a notice
in the docket informing the commission of the completion.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

R 484.1018 Reclamation of telephone numbers.
Rule 18. (1) Inactive telephone numbers of a provider that ceases to provide service
are considered abandoned.
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(2) The provider ceasing to provide service shall contact the North American
Numbering Plan Administrator, the National Number Pool Administrator, and the
National Portability Administration Center regarding the NPA-NXX-Xs affected by the
discontinuation of service.

(3) The commission staff shall work with the North American Numbering Plan
Administrator, the National Number Pool Administrator, and the National Portability
Administration Center to assist in the reclamation of numbering resources.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.

PART 4. REMEDIES

R 484.1019 Remedies.
Rule 19. Violation of these rules may result in penalties issued under section 601 of
the act, MCL 484.2601, including, but not limited to, revocation of a license to provide
basic local exchange service.

History: 2024 MR 6, Eff. March 21, 2024.
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