DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS
DIRECTOR'S OFFICE
OPTOMETRY - GENERAL RULES
Filed with the secretary of state on December 16, 2021

These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted
under section 33, 44, or 45a(9) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA
306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a. Rules adopted under these sections become
effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state.

(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory
affairs by sections 16145, 16148, 16174, 16287, and 17431 of the public health code,
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16174, 333.16287, and 333.17431 and
Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 2011-4, MCL
338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030)

R 338.305, R 338.309, R 338.311, R 338.313, R 338.315, R 338.317, R 338.319, R
338.320, and R 338.321 of the Michigan Administrative Code are amended and R
338.304 is rescinded, as follows:

PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS
R 338.304 Rescinded.

R 338.305 Professional optometric degree program; approval standards.

Rule 5. (1) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards of the
Accreditation Council on Optometric Education (ACOE) set forth in the publication
entitled "Accreditation Manual: Professional Optometric Degree Programs” revised
January 2019, and updated August 2019, which provide for the accreditation of
professional optometric degree programs.

(2) A professional optometric degree program accredited by the ACOE is considered
approved by the board.

(3) Copies of the Accreditation Manual of the ACOE are available free of charge from
the American Optometric Association’s website at https://www.aoa.org/optometrists/for-
educators/accreditation-council-on-optometric-education/accreditation-resources-and-
guidance/optometric-degree-programs-. Printed copies also are available for inspection
and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the Bureau of Professional Licensing,
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Ottawa Building, 611 W. Ottawa, P.O.
Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909.

PART 2. LICENSES

R 338.309 Licensure by endorsement.
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Rule 9. An applicant for licensure by endorsement shall hold an active license in good
standing in another state or province of Canada and submit a completed application on a
form provided by the department, together with the requisite fee. In addition to meeting
the requirements of the code and the administrative rules promulgated under the code, an
applicant shall comply with all of the following requirements as noted by (\):

(@) An applicant who is licensed
in another state.

Licensed for less than 3
years.

Licensed 3 years or more.

(i)

Establish that he or she is
of good moral character
as defined under 1974
PA 381, MCL 338.41 to
338.47.

\/

(ii)

Submit fingerprints as
required under section
16174(3) of the code,
MCL 333.16174.

(iil)

Graduate from a school
of optometry approved
by the board pursuant to
R 338.305.

(iv)

Achieve a passing score
on parts I, 11, and 111 of
the NBEO examination,
including a passing score
on the TMOD
examination given by
NBEO or its successor
organization.

(V)

Achieve a minimum
scaled score of 75 on the
examination of Michigan
laws and rules related to
the practice of optometry
that is developed and
administered by the
department, or an entity
approved by the
department.

(vi)

Hold a license in good
standing granting
therapeutic prescriptive
certification at the
highest level authorized
in the state of the United
States where the
applicant is currently




licensed.

(vii)

Hold a valid
cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR)
certificate issued by any
of the following:

(A) The Red Cross.

(B) The American Heart
Association.

(C) An accredited
hospital.

(D) An organization or
institution comparable to
those identified in
subparagraphs (A) to (C)
of this paragraph.

(viii)

Comply with both of the
following:

(A) Disclose each
license, registration, or
certification in a health
profession or specialty
issued by any other state,
the United States
military, the federal
government, or another
country on the
application form.

(B) Satisfy the
requirements of section
16174(2) of the code,
MCL 333.16174, which
includes verification
from the issuing entity
showing that disciplinary
proceedings are not
pending against the
applicant and sanctions
are not in force at the
time of application.

(b) An applicant who is
licensed in a province of
Canada.

Licensed less than 10
years.

Licensed 10 years or more.

(i)

Establish that he or she is
of good moral character
as defined under 1974




PA 381, MCL 338.41 to
338.47.

(ii)

Submit fingerprints as
required under section
16174(3) of the code,
MCL 333.16174.

(iii)

Graduate from a school
of optometry approved
by the board pursuant to
R 338.305.

(iv)

Achieve a passing score
on parts I, 11, and 111 of
the NBEO examination,
including a passing score
on the TMOD
examination given by
NBEO or its successor
organization.

(V)

Achieve a minimum
scaled score of 75 on the
examination of Michigan
laws and rules related to
the practice of optometry
that is developed and
administered by the
department, or an entity
approved by the
department.

(vi)

Hold a license in good
standing granting
therapeutic prescriptive
certification at the
highest level authorized
in the province of
Canada where the
applicant is currently
licensed.

(vii)

Hold a valid CPR
certificate issued by any
of the following:

(A) The Red Cross.

(B) The American Heart
Association.

(C) An accredited
hospital.

(D) An organization or




institution comparable to
those identified in
subparagraphs (A) to (C)
of this paragraph.

(viii) | Comply with both of the
following: \ V

(A) Disclose each
license, registration, or
certification in a health
profession or specialty
issued by any other state,
the United States
military, the federal
government, or another
country on the
application form.

(B) Satisfy the
requirements of section
16174(2) of the code,
MCL 333.16174, which
includes verification
from the issuing entity
showing that disciplinary
proceedings are not
pending against the
applicant and sanctions
are not in force at the
time of application.

R 338.311 Limited licenses.

Rule 11. (1) The board may issue an educational limited license, pursuant to section
16182(2)(a) of the code, MCL 333.16182, to an individual who meets the requirements of
the code and the administrative rules promulgated under the code and who has graduated
from a board-approved professional optometric degree program, or who will graduate
from the program not more than 3 months after applying for an educational limited
license, and who is enrolled in a postgraduate course of study or participates in a
residency program that is offered by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or
a board-approved institution.

(2) The board may issue a clinical academic limited license, pursuant to section
16182(2)(c) of the code, MCL 333.16182, to an individual who meets the requirements of
the code and the administrative rules promulgated under the code and who is a graduate
of a board-approved professional optometric degree program and who is employed as a
faculty member at a board-approved professional optometric degree program. An
optometrist who is licensed under this subrule may perform procedures upon patients
while employed as a faculty member at a board-approved professional optometric degree
program, if these procedures are performed under the general supervision of a faculty



member who is fully licensed as an optometrist. An individual who is licensed under this
subrule shall not do either of the following:

(a) Hold himself or herself out to the public as being engaged in the practice of
optometry other than as a faculty member.

(b) Provide optometric services outside of his or her employment as a faculty member.

(3) An individual who applies for a limited license under section 16182(2)(a) or (c) of
the code, MCL 333.16182(2), shall meet all of the following requirements:

(a) Comply with section 16174 of the code, MCL 333.16174.

(b) Submit proof of graduation from an accredited professional optometric degree
program that is approved by the board or from a non-accredited professional optometric
degree program that is approved by the board, pursuant to R 338.305.

(c) Submit proof of appointment to either of the following:

(i) A postgraduate course of study or a residency program, pursuant to subrule (1) of
this rule.
(i) A faculty position at a board-approved professional optometric degree program,
pursuant to subrule (2) of this rule.
(4) Limited licenses, pursuant to subrules (1) and (2) of this rule, may be renewed
annually at the discretion of the board.
(5) Applicants for renewal of a clinical academic limited license shall submit evidence
of having completed 10 hours of board-approved continuing education in
pharmacological management of ocular conditions required for the year.

R 338.313 Relicensure.

Rule 13. (1) An applicant whose Michigan license has lapsed may be relicensed under
section 16201(3) or (4) of the code, MCL 333.16201, as applicable, if the applicant meets
the requirements of the code and the administrative rules promulgated under the code and
satisfies the following requirements as noted by (V):

(@) An applicant who has let his | Lapsed 3 Lapsed more than | Lapsed 6 years or
or her Michigan license lapse and | years or less. | 3 years, but less | more.
is not currently licensed in than 6 years.

another state or in Canada.

() Submit a completed
application on a form \ \ \
provided by the
department, together with
the required fee.

(i) Establish that he or she is
of good moral character | \ \
as defined under 1974
PA 381, MCL 338.41 to
338.47.

(iii) | Submit fingerprints as
required under section \ V
16174(3) of the code,
MCL 333.16174.

(iv) Submit proof of having




completed 40 hours of
continuing education as
required under R
338.321, which was
earned within the 2-year
period immediately
preceding the date of
relicensure, subject to
both of the following:

(A) At least 2 of the 40
hours of continuing
education must be in pain
and symptom
management, as provided
under R 338.321(3).

(B) If certified to
administer therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents, at
least 20 of the 40 hours
of continuing education
must be in
pharmacological
management of ocular
conditions, as provided
in R 338.321(2), and the
applicant shall hold a
current CPR certificate.

(v)

Achieve a minimum
scaled score of 75 on the
examination of Michigan
laws and rules related to
the practice of optometry
that is developed and
administered by the
department, or an entity
approved by the
department.

(vi)

Achieve a passing score
on parts I, 11, and 111 of
the NBEO examination,
including a passing score
on the Continued
Professional
Development in
Optometry (CPDO)
examination given by




NBEO or its successor
organization.

(vii)

An applicant who is or
has ever been licensed,
registered, or certified in
a health profession or
specialty by any other
state, the United States
military, the federal
government, or another
country, shall do both of
the following:

(A) Disclose each
license, registration, or
certification on the
application form.

(B) Satisfy the
requirements of section
16174(2) of the code,
MCL 333.16174, which
includes verification
from the issuing entity
showing that disciplinary
proceedings are not
pending against the
applicant and sanctions
are not in force at the
time of application.

(b) An applicant who has let his
or her Michigan license lapse and
is currently licensed in another
state or in Canada.

Lapsed 3
years or less.

Lapsed more than
3 years, but less
than 6 years.

Lapsed 6 years or
more.

(i)

Submit a completed
application on a form
provided by the
department, together with
the required fee.

(i)

Establish that he or she is
of good moral character
as defined under 1974
PA 381, MCL 338.41 to
338.47.

(iil)

Submit fingerprints as
required under section
16174(3) of the code,
MCL 333.16174.




(iv)

Submit proof of having
completed 40 hours of
continuing education as
required under R
338.321, which was
earned within the 2-year
period immediately
preceding the date of
relicensure, subject to
both of the following:

(A) At least 2 of the 40
hours of continuing
education must be in pain
and symptom
management, as provided
under R 338.321(3).

(B) If certified to
administer therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents, at
least 20 of the 40 hours
of continuing education
must be in
pharmacological
management of ocular
conditions, as provided
in R 338.321(2), and the
applicant shall hold a
current CPR certificate.

(v)

Achieve a minimum
scaled score of 75 on the
examination of Michigan
laws and rules related to
the practice of optometry
that is developed and
administered by the
department, or an entity
approved by the
department.

(vi)

An applicant who is or
has ever been licensed,
registered, or certified in
a health profession or
specialty by any other
state, the United States
military, the federal
government, or another
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country, shall do both of
the following:

(A) Disclose each
license, registration, or
certification on the
application form.

(B) Satisfy the
requirements of section
16174(2) of the code,
MCL 333.16174, which
includes verification
from the issuing entity
showing that disciplinary
proceedings are not
pending against the
applicant and sanctions
are not in force at the
time of application.

(2) If relicensure is granted and it is determined that a sanction has been imposed by
another state, the United States military, the federal government, or another country, the
disciplinary subcommittee may impose appropriate sanctions under section 16174(5) of
the code, MCL 333.16174.

R 338.315 Certification to administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents;
application; qualifications; adoption of standards; prohibitions.

Rule 15. (1) An applicant for certification to administer a topical ocular diagnostic
pharmaceutical agent in the practice of optometry shall submit a completed application,
on a form provided by the department, together with the requisite fee. In addition to
meeting the other requirements of the code and the administrative rules promulgated
under the code, an applicant shall satisfy all of the following requirements:

(a) Successfully complete a course of study in general and clinical pharmacology
related to the practice of optometry as required in section 17412(2)(a) of the code, MCL
333.17412. The course of study must include passing an examination on general and
ocular pharmacology. The applicant has successfully completed the required course of
study when he or she has been granted the credit hours designated for the course of study
by the teaching institution where the course is offered.

(b) Establish a board-approved emergency treatment plan, pursuant to section
17412(2)(d) of the code, MCL 333.17412, for the management and referral of patients
who experience any adverse drug reaction. To be board-approved, the emergency
treatment plan must include all of the following:

(i) Patient instructions related to an adverse drug reaction.

(if) A referral procedure for a patient reporting an adverse drug reaction.

(iii) The names and contact information of not less than 3 physicians, clinics, or
hospitals to whom the patient reporting an adverse drug reaction may be referred.

(iv) A documentation procedure for the information to be included in the patient’s
medical record regarding the report of an adverse drug reaction.
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(c) Successfully complete a course in CPR as required by section 17412(2)(c) of the
code, MCL 333.17412, approved by the department of health and human services, and
offered or approved by any of the following:

(i) The Red Cross.

(i) The American Heart Association.

(iii) An accredited hospital.

(iv) An organization or institution comparable to those identified in paragraphs (i) to
(iii) of this subdivision.

(2) A licensed optometrist shall not use diagnostic pharmaceutical agents in the practice

of optometry unless the optometrist has been certified by the board as being qualified to
administer topical ocular diagnostic pharmaceutical agents.

R 338.317 Certification to administer and prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents;
application; qualifications.

Rule 17. (1) An applicant for certification to administer and prescribe a therapeutic
pharmaceutical agent in the practice of optometry shall submit a completed application,
on a form provided by the department, together with the requisite fee. In addition to
meeting the other requirements of the code and the administrative rules promulgated
under the code, an applicant shall satisfy all of the following requirements:

(a) Meet the certification requirements to administer diagnostic pharmaceutical agents
under R 338.315.

(b) Successfully complete a course of study relating to the didactic and clinical use of
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents as required in section 17435(2)(b) of the code, MCL
333.17435.

(c) Establish a board-approved management plan that complies with section
17435(2)(c) of the code, MCL 333.17435.

(2) A licensed optometrist shall not administer or prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical
agents in the practice of optometry unless the optometrist has been certified by the board
as being qualified to administer and prescribe therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.

PART 3. CONTINUING EDUCATION

R 338.319 Adoption of standards and criteria by reference; board approval by
application.

Rule 19. (1) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards and criteria of
the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education (COPE) for accreditation of an activity
or qualification of a course that are set forth in the publications entitled “Activity
Accreditation Manual,” revised February 2017, and “Course Qualification Manual,”
revised February 2017. A copy of the publications may be obtained at no cost from the
Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry’s website at http://www.arbo.org.
Printed copies also are available for inspection and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per
page from the Bureau of Professional Licensing, Department of Licensing and
Regulatory Affairs, Ottawa Building, 611 W. Ottawa, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing,
Michigan 48909.

(2) A continuing education program related to the practice of optometry that has been
accredited by COPE is considered approved by the board.
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(3) A continuing education program that is not accredited by COPE or approved as
provided in R 338.320 may apply for board approval by submitting an application to the
department. The application must be received not less than 90 calendar days before the
program presentation. The application must be reviewed by the board’s continuing
education subcommittee. After review and recommendation of the program by the
board’s continuing education subcommittee, approval of the continuing education
program may be granted after a vote of the full board.

(4) Applications for approval of a continuing education program must include all the
following:

(a) The sponsor’s name.

(b) The sponsor’s address.

(c) The program name.

(d) The program date.

(e) The program location.

() The program outline, including all of the following:

(i) An explanation of how the program is designed to further educate the licensee
through acquisition and application of knowledge, which results in improved patient
outcomes.

(i) The topics and the name of the speaker of each topic.

(iii) The times of the specific topics and breaks included in the program.

(9) The résumé of each speaker or instructor for the program.

(h) A description of the delivery method, or methods to be used, and the techniques
that will be employed to assure active participation.

(1) A brief description of the sponsoring organization.

(1) The name, title, and address of the program director and a description of his or her
qualifications to direct the program.

(k) A description of how participants will be notified that continuing education credit
has been earned.

(I) A description of the physical facilities or laboratory available to assure a proper
learning environment.

(m) A description of how attendance is monitored and the name of the person
monitoring attendance.

(n) The number of hours of course instruction including all of the following:

(i) The number of hours related to clinical optometry, which may include any of the

following COPE categories:
(A) Contact lenses (CL).
(B) Functional vision/pediatrics (FV).
(C) General optometry (GO).
(D) Low vision/vision impairment & rehabilitation (LV).
(E) Public health (PB).

(if) The number of hours related to practice management, which may include the
following COPE categories:

(A) Practice management (PM).
(B) Ethics/jurisprudence (EJ).

(iii) The number of hours related to pharmaceutical management, which may include

any of the following COPE categories:
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(A) Glaucoma (GL).

(B) Injection skills (IS).

(C) Laser procedures (LP).

(D) Peri-operative management of ophthalmic surgery (PO).

(E) Refractive surgery management (RS).

(F) Surgery procedures (SP).

(G) Treatment and management of ocular disease: anterior segment (AS).
(H) Treatment and management of ocular disease: posterior segment (PS).
(I) Neuro-optometry (NO).

(J) Oral pharmaceuticals (OP).

(K) Pharmacology (PH).

(L) Principles of diagnosis (PD).

(M) Systemic/ocular disease (SD).

(iv) The number of hours related to pain management, which may include any of the

following COPE categories:

(A) Oral pharmaceuticals (OP).

(B) Pharmacology (PH).

(C) Treatment and management of ocular disease: anterior segment (AS).
(D) Treatment and management of ocular disease: posterior segment (PS).
(E) Functional vision/pediatrics (FV).

R 338.320 Approved continuing education; limitations; documentation.
Rule 20. The board approves all of the following as continuing education if the subject
matter falls within an approved COPE category as listed in R 338.319(4)(n):

Activity and Proof of Completion Number of Continuing Education Hours
Granted or Permitted for Activity
(@) | Successful completion of a course or Ten hours of continuing education are earned
courses offered for credit by an accredited | for each academic quarter credit hour earned.
optometry school or college approved by
the board under R 338.305. Fifteen hours of continuing education are
earned for each academic semester credit
If audited, a licensee shall submit an hour earned. Hours may be earned without
official transcript documenting successful | limitation.
completion of the course.
(b) | Successful completion of a continuing One continuing education hour is earned for
education program offered by an each 50 to 60 minutes of program attendance,
accredited optometry school or college without limitation.

approved by the board under R 338.319.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy
of a letter or certificate of completion
showing the licensee’s name, number of
credits earned, sponsor name or the name
of the organization that approved the
program or activity for continuing
education credit, and the date or dates on
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which the program was held or activity
completed.

(©)

Attendance at a continuing education
program related to the practice of
optometry offered by an educational
program approved by the board under R
338.319(3) or approved by another state
board of optometry.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy
of a letter or certificate of completion
showing the licensee’s name, number of
credits earned, sponsor name or the name
of the organization that approved the
program or activity for continuing
education credit, and the date or dates on
which the program was held or activity
completed.

One continuing education hour is earned for
each 50 to 60 minutes of program attendance,
without limitation.

(d)

Initial presentation of or at a continuing

education program approved by the board.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a letter
from the program’s sponsor, verifying the
licensee’s presentation of educational
materials and lecture at the continuing
education program.

One continuing education hour in the
appropriate COPE category is earned for
each 50 to 60 minutes of program
presentation, without limitation.

(€)

Attendance at a continuing education
program related to optometric topics
approved for category 1 continuing
education by the Michigan board of
medicine or the Michigan board of
osteopathic medicine and surgery.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy
of a letter or certificate of completion
showing the licensee’s name, number of
credits earned, sponsor name or the name
of the organization that approved the
program or activity for continuing
education credit, and the date or dates on
which the program was held or activity
completed.

One continuing education hour in clinical
optometry is earned for each 50 to 60
minutes of program attendance, limited to 8
hours per renewal cycle.

(f)

Attendance at a continuing education
program related to optometric
pharmacological topics approved for
continuing education by the Michigan

One continuing education hour in
pharmacological management is earned for
each 50 to 60 minutes of program attendance,
limited to 8 hours per renewal period.
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board of pharmacy.

If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy
of a letter or certificate of completion
showing the licensee’s name, number of
credits earned, sponsor name or the name
of the organization that approved the
program or activity for continuing
education credit, and the date or dates on
which the program was held or activity
completed.

Applicants for renewal who hold certification
to administer topical ocular diagnostic
pharmaceutical agents or certification to
administer and prescribe therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents, or both, may earn
hours without limitation.

(9) | Initial presentation of a scientific exhibit, | Two hours of continuing education in clinical
poster, or paper to a professional optometry are earned for each presentation.
optometric organization. No additional credit shall be granted for

preparation of the presentation.
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy
of the document presented with evidence
of presentation or a letter from the
program sponsor verifying the date of the
presentation.
(h) | Initial publication of either of the Six hours of continuing education in clinical
following: optometry are earned for serving as the
(i) A scientific article relating to the primary author. Three hours of continuing
practice of optometry in a peer-reviewed | education in clinical optometry are earned for
journal or periodical. serving as a secondary author.
(if) A chapter or a portion of a chapter
related to the practice of optometry in
either a professional health care textbook
or peer-reviewed textbook.
If audited, the licensee shall submit a copy
of the publication that identifies the
licensee as the author or a publication
acceptance letter and documentation of
the peer-review process.
() Participating on either of the following: Six hours of continuing education in clinical

(i) A peer review committee dealing
with quality of patient care as it relates to
the practice of optometry.

(if) A national or state committee, board,
council, or association related to the
practice of optometry.

Participation on a committee, board,
council, or association is considered
acceptable by the board if it enhances the

optometry are earned for participating on a
committee. A maximum of 6 hours of
continuing education may be earned for this
activity in each renewal period.
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participant’s knowledge and
understanding of the field of optometry.

If audited, the licensee shall submit a
letter from an organization official
verifying the licensee’s participation in at
least 50% of the regularly scheduled
meetings of the committee, board,
council, or association.

() Taking and passing any nationally Every 2 years, 12 hours of continuing
recognized advanced competency education in pharmacology management or
examination in optometry. clinical optometry are earned.

R 338.321 License renewal; continuing education, requirements, limitations.

Rule 21. (1) An applicant for license renewal shall satisfy the requirements of the
Public Health Code General Rules, R 338.7001 to R 338.7005, and shall accumulate not
less than 40 continuing education hours approved by the board pursuant to R 338.319 or
R 338.320 during the 2 years immediately preceding the date of application for renewal.

(2) An applicant for license renewal who holds certification to administer topical ocular
diagnostic pharmaceutical agents or certification to administer and prescribe therapeutic
pharmaceutical agents, or both, shall do both of the following:

(@) Accumulate not less than 20 hours of board-approved continuing education in
pharmacological management of ocular conditions. The 20 required hours are part of,
and not in addition to, the 40 hours required in subrule (1) of this rule. A continuing
education program that falls within the COPE categories listed in R 338.319(4)(n)(iii)(A)
to (M) meets the requirements of this subdivision.

(b) Hold a valid CPR certificate issued by any of the following:

(i) The Red Cross.

(i) The American Heart Association.

(iii) An accredited hospital.

(iv) An organization or institution comparable to those identified in paragraphs (i) to
(iii) of this paragraph.

(3) An applicant for license renewal shall accumulate not less than 2 hours of board
approved continuing education in pain and symptom management related to the practice
of optometry. A continuing education program that falls within the COPE categories
listed in R 338.319(4)(n)(iv)(A) to (E) meets the requirements of this subrule. Continuing
education hours in pain and symptom management, as they relate to the practice of
optometry, may include, but are not limited to, the following:

(a) Ethics and health policy related to pain.

(b) Pain definitions.

(c) Basic sciences related to pain, including pharmacology, psychology, sociology, and
anthropology.

(d) Clinical sciences related to pain, including specific pain conditions and pain in
special contexts and settings.

(e) Clinician-patient communications related to pain.
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(F) Management of pain, including evaluation and treatment; non-pharmacological and
pharmacological management.

(9) Ensuring quality pain care.

(h) Michigan programs and resources relevant to pain.

(4) A minimum of 20 of the required continuing education hours must be completed in a
live, synchronous learning format. The remaining hours may be completed in any other
format.

(5) An applicant for license renewal may earn a maximum of 9 continuing education
hours per licensure cycle in practice management. A continuing education program that
falls within the COPE categories listed in R 338.319(4)(n)(ii)(A) and (B) meets the
requirements of this subrule.

(6) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant's certificate of
compliance with the requirements of this rule. An optometrist shall retain documentation
of meeting the requirements of this rule for a period of 4 years from the date of applying
for license renewal. The board may require an applicant or licensee to submit evidence to
demonstrate compliance with this rule. Failure to comply with this rule is a violation of
section 16221(h) of the code, MCL 333.16221.

(7) A request for a waiver under section 16205 of the code, MCL 333.16205, must be
received by the department before the expiration date of the license.



