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DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE AND FINANCIAL SERVICES 
 

DEBT MANAGEMENT 
 

Filed with the secretary of state on September 3, 2020 
 

These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted 
under section 33, 44, or 45a(6) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA 306, MCL 
24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a.  Rules adopted under these sections become effective 7 days after 
filing with the secretary of state. 

 
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of insurance and financial services 

by section 22 of the debt management act, 1975 PA 148, MCL 451.432) 
 
R 451.1229, R 451.1231, R 451.1232, and R 451.1244 of the Michigan Administrative Code 

are rescinded, and R 451.1221, R 451.1222, R 451.1223, R 451.1225, R 451.1226, R 451.1227, 
R 451.1228, R 451.1233, R 451.1234, R 451.1235, R 451.1236, R 451.1237, R 451.1238, R 
451.1239, R 451.1240, R 451.1241, R 451.1242, R 451.1243, and R 451.1245 are amended, as 
follows: 
 

R  451.1221   Definitions. 
  Rule 1. As used in these rules: 
  (a) "Act" means the debt management act, 1975 PA 148, MCL 451.411 to 451.437.  
  (b) “Certified counselor” means that term as defined in section 2(b) of the act, MCL 

451.412.  
  (c) “Department” means the department of insurance and financial services. 
  (d) "Firm" means a debt management licensee or exempt person. 
  (e) "Monthly amortizable amount" means the payment made in equal monthly amounts, 

extinguishing the fees and charges stated in the contract, less the $50.00 initial fee. No more than 
1 monthly fee may be   taken   in   any calendar month. 

  (f) "Rate" means the percentage of a firm's fees or charges in relation to the debt to be 
liquidated during the life of the contract. 

 
R  451.1222   Application  for  license  or    exemption    order;    renewal application. 
  Rule 2. (1) The application for license or exemption order must be on the form prescribed 

by the department. 
  (2) The application must be accompanied by the financial statements   of the applicant for 

its last fiscal year and as of a date not more   than   45 days prior to the filing. 
  (3) Financial statements, for the purposes of this rule, must include a balance sheet and 

income statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. 
  (4) Payment of fees must be made by a check payable to   the   "State   of Michigan." 
  (5) The original application must be accompanied by a business   history form for   each   

officer and director if an association or corporation, for each   partner   if   a partnership, for each 
member if a limited liability company, and for each proprietor, counselor, and   officer   
manager.   A credit report on the firm must also be submitted. 
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  (6) A firm that has operated without interruption during the   past   year under a license or 
exemption order pursuant to section 4(2) of the act, MCL 451.414, may file a renewal 
application on the form prescribed by the department. 

  (7) The application must request a license or exemption order for each location from which 
the business of debt management is conducted. 

  (8) In the event of a change of business form, a new application must be filed prior to the 
effective date of the change.  The application must include payment of a new fee as on renewal 
application. 

  (9) The department shall not accept for filing an application  with  a  name that would cause 
confusion with the name of an existing firm or governmental agency or cause confusion about 
services to be received from  a licensee. 

 
 
R  451.1223   Amended application. 
  Rule 3. (1) A proposed change of name of a firm must be filed with the department for 

approval prior to effecting the change. The department shall not accept a name change that 
would be confusing with the name of an existing firm or governmental agency, or cause 
confusion  about  services   to   be received  from  a  licensee.  An amended application must be    
filed contemporaneously with the name change. 

  (2) A firm shall file an amended application with the department within 5 days of the 
occurrence of any of the following: 

  (a) If a firm is a corporation, a change in its officers or directors. 
  (b) If a firm is a partnership, a change in its partners. 
  (c) If a firm is a sole proprietorship, a change in ownership. 
  (d) If a firm is limited liability company, a change in its members. 
  (e) Conviction of an officer, director, partner, member, or sole proprietor of the firm of a 

felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude. 
  (f) Insolvency, filing in bankruptcy, receivership, or assignment   for the benefit of creditors 

of the licensee. 
  (3) If a firm transfers its debt management business to another office at a different address, 

its license applies to its   new office only if the following requirements are met: 
  (a) The department amends its application to reflect the effective   date   of the transfer. 
  (b) The firm ceases to conduct debt management business at the old address on the date 

indicated, and has notified its clients of the change of address not less than 5 days prior to the 
change. 

  (c) The surety company has notified the department that the   bond   furnished pursuant to 
the act applies in full force and effect to the new office after the date of the transfer. 

  (d) The firm has submitted its license certificate or order to the department for reissuance to 
cover the new office, and the   license   or   order has been so reissued. 

  (4) The firm shall promptly file an amended application upon the occurrence of any material 
event affecting the accuracy of the information contained in the current application. 

  (5)  If the  partnership  agreement  of  a  firm   provides   for    the substitution, withdrawal,  
or  addition  of partners of   the   partnership without winding up the partnership business, it is 
not necessary   to obtain  a  new  license  or  exemption  order   because   of   substitutions, 
withdrawals, or additions  if  evidence  satisfactory  to   the  department is furnished as to the 
following: 
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  (a) That the surety bond furnished pursuant to the act shall continue in full force and effect. 
  (b) The financial responsibility, experience, character, and general fitness of new partners. 

The licensee shall furnish   an   executed business history form for   each new partner. 
  (c) That the withdrawal or substitution of new partners will not render the partnership 

insolvent. 
  (d) That at least 2/3 in number and interest of those  who  were  partners when the license 

was applied for and issued are continuing  as  partners of the partnership, or that 1 of the original 
partners remains  in  a  2-person partnership and a new partner is added simultaneously with  the  
departure of original partner. 

  (6) A change in the ownership of a sole proprietorship firm terminates the license and 
requires the filing of a new application and the issuance of a new license before continuance of   
the debt management business. 

  (7) If the firm seeks to open an additional branch office, it shall amend its current 
application to reflect the address of the additional office and the name of the office manager. The 
licensee or exempted person shall file the appropriate forms with the department and pay the 
statutory fee. 

 
 
R  451.1225   Notice of termination of bond. 
  Rule 5. If a surety company gives 30 days' notice of termination of a bond, the firm, if 

continuing in the debt management business, shall   furnish   a satisfactory new bond before the 
expiration of the 30 days.  Failure to maintain a bond is cause for issuance of a summary 
suspension order. 

 
 
R  451.1226   Debt management contract; budget analysis format; creditors agreement form. 
  Rule 6. (1) The applicant shall file a copy of   its   proposed   debt management contract for 

debtors at the time of filing its application   for review and acceptance by the department.   
  (2) The applicant shall file a copy of its   proposed   budget   analysis format with the 

department.  
  (3) A true copy of the budget analysis must be provided to each debtor before a contract is 

signed. 
  (4) The applicant shall file a copy of its proposed creditor's agreement form with the 

department.  
 
 
R  451.1227   Books and records. 
  Rule 7. The firm shall make and keep current the   following  books  and records relating to 

its business: 
  (a) Journals or other records of original entry containing  an  itemized daily record of all 

payments and receipts for, or on behalf of, debtors of the firm, all receipts and disbursements of 
cash, and all other debits and credits. 

  (b) Ledgers or other records reflecting all assets, liabilities, income, expense, and capital 
accounts. 

  (c)  Ledger accounts or other records, itemizing separately   as   to   each debtor  all  receipts  
from  the  debtor,  payments  to   the  firm,   and disbursements on behalf  of  the  debtor,   the   
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creditor's representative contacted, the response obtained or whether  there  has been  a  response 
within 14 days after the mailing of the creditor consent form, any revised or special conditions or 
arrangements conditioning the  consent,  and  the  date at which the required consents were 
secured.  

  (d) A complaint file containing copies of all written complaints made to the firm by debtors. 
  (e) Personnel files for all employees, listing name, current home address, home phone 

number, social security number, and a  record  of   all compensation. 
 
 
R  451.1228   Financial reports; audit. 
  Rule 8. (1) The department may at any time require the filing of special financial or other 

operational reports if it finds that such filing is in the public interest and for the protection of 
debtors. 

  (2) If a firm services more than 100 debtors, an audit is required of the firm annually. The 
audit must be done pursuant to an approved audit plan submitted by an independent accountant 
and accepted by the department in writing. 
 

R  451.1229   Rescinded. 
 

R  451.1231   Rescinded. 
 

R  451.1232   Rescinded. 
 

R  451.1233   Renewal applications. 
  Rule 13. Renewal applications must be filed with the department by December 1 of each 

year. Failure to file by that date will result in the expiration of the license or order. 
 

 
R  451.1234   Dishonest or unethical business conduct. 
  Rule 14. Dishonest or unethical business conduct, as provided in section 9 of the act, MCL 

451.419, includes, but is not limited to, the following: 
  (a)  Failure to promptly refund a debtor's    money    upon    written cancellation of a 

contract. 
  (b) Borrowing money from a debtor. 
  (c) Giving preference to creditors for the convenience or benefit of the firm rather than the 

primary benefit of the debtor. 
  (d) Receiving money from the debtor, except as provided in the contract with the debtor, 

which contract has been accepted as to form and content by the department. 
  (e) Failing to promptly record on the books of the firm any transaction involving funds of 

the debtor. 
  (f) Paying funds of a debtor to a fictitious creditor. 
  (g) Accepting a rebate, kickback, or other remuneration for payment of a debtor's 

obligations, except under a plan approved by the department and fully disclosed to the debtor. 
  (h) Using debtors' funds as compensating balances for loans. 
  (i) Making erasures or changes on the portion of the client account card used for recording 

payments received from the debtor, on checks issued   to creditors, on fees taken, or on the dates 
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of such entries. If a correction is needed, the error must have 1 line drawn through it and be 
initialed by an individual authorized by the licensee who did not make the correction or change.  
All entries must be made with ink, be typewritten, or be made by other machine entry. 
 
 

R  451.1235   Posting statutory  provision,  address,   and   phone   number; filing fee 
schedule and amendments thereto. 

  Rule 15. (1) The firm shall prominently post at each business location and website the 
provisions of sections 13(1) and (2), 14(1), and 18 of the act, MCL 451.423, 451.424, and 
451.428, as well as the address and phone number of the department. 

  (2) The firm shall annually file with the department its fee schedule or   a schedule of its 
range of fees, and shall file amendments to that schedule 5 days prior to any change in fees 
charged to the debtor. 
 
 

R   451.1236   Employment qualifications. 
  Rule 16. Except as approved by the administrator, a firm shall not knowingly employ as an 

office manager or counselor a person who has done any of the following: 
  (a) Been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, which includes forgery, 

embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, 
or any other like offense. 

  (b) Violated or failed to comply with a provision of the act, or a rule or order promulgated 
or issued pursuant to the act. 

  (c) Had a license to engage in the business of debt management revoked or suspended in 
this state or another state   for   any   reason   other   than failure to pay licensing fees. 

  (d) Defaulted in the payment of money collected   for others, including the discharge of 
debts, because of bankruptcy   proceedings.   The   director of the department may, at his or her 
discretion, waive this restriction if provided with evidence of justifiable cause for the 
bankruptcy, plus convincing evidence   of   the fitness of the bankrupt party to carry out his or 
her functions under the act. 

 
 
R  451.1237   Procedures;   review. 
  Rule 17. (1) Each firm shall prepare and maintain a manual detailing the procedures for 

compliance with the act. 
  (2) Each certified counselor of the firm shall be provided with the manual. 
 
 
R  451.1238   License. 
  Rule 18. (1) A license must be issued for each main office and branch office rendering debt 

management service. 
  (2) Whenever a licensee or exempt person discontinues   the   business   of debt 

management, whether totally or at a specific   location, the   license certificate, or exemption 
order, must be mailed to the department within 5 days. An explanation of the reason  for   
discontinuance,   a statement of any amounts remaining in the client trust   account,   and   the 
plan  and  timetable  for  disbursement  must accompany   the    license certificate, or exemption 
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order,  unless  all   accounts   are   transferred, without interruption in service, to another of the 
firm's branches. 

  (3) A license must not be terminated for a firm unless it is revoked or unless all payments 
due creditors or debtors have been made, and the department issues an order terminating the 
license. 

 
 
R  451.1239   Budget analysis. 
  Rule 19. (1) A copy of the budget analysis must be retained in the debtor's file for a period 

of 6 years after the last transaction. 
  (2) The budget analysis must be signed by a certified counselor of the firm who participated 

in the preparation of the analysis. 
 
 
R  451.1240   Certification of compliance. 
  Rule 20. (1) Every contract must set forth, in bold type, the   set-up   and cancellation fee 

provisions and amounts, and advise the prospective client to note these carefully before signing 
the contract. 

  (2) The department may approve the accumulation of debtor's funds in payment of 
obligations which are required to be paid in large lump sums, such as income and property taxes, 
insurance premiums, and   house   payments.   All such accumulations, however, must be 
designated for   a   specific   purpose and must not be used to pay for fees and charges, including 
the close out fee of the firm. 

 
 
R  451.1241   Reconciliation. 
  Rule 21. (1) The trust account reconciliation  must contain   provisions for recording and 

identifying the balance in each   debtor's   account,   the balance from the bank statement, the  
check  number  and   amount   of   each outstanding check, the date and amount of deposits not 
yet  credited  by  the bank, the reconciled bank balance, the balance from the  checkbook,   and   
a detailed breakdown of any differences. 

  (2) Remedial action, as provided in section 15(5) of the act, MCL 451.425, must be either 
an immediate replacement of funds, or an   immediate   cessation   of business until sufficient 
funds are placed in the account. 

 
 
R  451.1242   Statement of disbursements. 
  Rule 22. The statement prepared in compliance with section 16(1)(e) of   the   act, MCL 

451.426, must be prepared as of a date no earlier than the date of the first full distribution to 
creditors under the contract. 

 
 

R  451.1243   Separate remuneration prohibition; waiver  or  modification. 
  Rule 23. All  requests  for  waiver  or  modification   of   the   separate remuneration 

prohibition of section 19(h) of the  act, MCL 451.429,  must be   made   in writing to the, setting 
forth  in   detail   the need for such waiver or modification; the persons or  entities   from   which 



7 

 

the benefit will be solicited or  sought;  the  amount   or   percentage   of contribution solicited 
from donors in  the  capacity  of   creditor   for   a debtor; any relationship, affiliation, or 
connection creating  an  actual  or potential conflict of interest  between  the  parties   involved;   
and   any reciprocal arrangements made or to be made. The department shall   examine   the 
proposal promptly and shall, within 15 days, notify   the   licensee   or exempted person of its 
decision, or of the   necessity for   additional information. All such decisions must be in writing 
and must give the effective date of the declaratory ruling. 

 
 
R  451.1244  Rescinded. 

 
R  451.1245   Charges for other services. 
  Rule 25. (1) A firm or affiliate thereof shall not charge  a   debtor   for any services or 

goods, or make other charges, unless the  firm  or  affiliate has filed with the department a plan 
setting forth the basis  of   charges,  and the department has determined that such charges in the 
future do not result in an excessive fee in violation of section 18 of the act, MCL 451.428. 

  (2) If a firm or affiliate thereof proposes to alter its plan of charges, the amended plan must 
be filed with the department and approved prior to use. 

 
 
 


