DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATORY AFFAIRS  
DIRECTOR'S OFFICE  
OSTEOPATHIC MEDICINE AND SURGERY - GENERAL RULES  
Filed with the secretary of state on April 26, 2021  
These rules take effect immediately upon filing with the secretary of state unless adopted  
under section 33, 44, or 45a(6) of the administrative procedures act of 1969, 1969 PA  
306, MCL 24.233, 24.244, or 24.245a. Rules adopted under these sections become  
effective 7 days after filing with the secretary of state.  
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory  
affairs by sections 16145, 16148, 16174, 16204, 16215, 16287, 17531, 17533, and 17548  
of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16174,  
333.16204, 333.16215, 333.16287, 333.17531, 333.17533, and 333.17548, and Executive  
Reorganization Order Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and 2011-4, MCL 338.3501,  
445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030)  
R 338.111, R 338.115, R 338.117, R 338.119, R 338.120, R 338.121, R 338.123, R  
338.125, R 338.127, R 338.129, R 338.133, R 338.141, and R 338.143 of the Michigan  
Administrative Code are amended, R 338.114 is added, and R 338.113 and R 338.131 are  
rescinded, as follows:  
PART 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS  
R 338.111 Definitions.  
Rule 11. (1) As used in these rules:  
(a) "Board" means the Michigan board of osteopathic medicine and surgery created  
under section 17521 of the code, MCL 333.17521.  
(b) "Code" means the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 to 333.25211.  
(c) “Department” means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs.  
(2) A term defined in the code has the same meaning when used in these rules.  
R 338.113 Rescinded.  
R 338.114 Telehealth.  
Rule 14. (1) Consent for treatment must be obtained before providing a telehealth  
service under section 16284 of the code, MCL 333.16284.  
(2) Proof of consent must be maintained in the patient’s up-to-date medical record and  
retained in compliance with section 16213 of the code, MCL 333.16213.  
August 27, 2020  
2
(3) A physician providing a telehealth service may prescribe a drug if the physician is a  
prescriber acting within the scope of his or her practice and in compliance with section  
16285 of the code, MCL 333.16285, and if he or she does both of the following:  
(a) If medically necessary, refers the patient to a provider that is geographically  
accessible to the patient.  
(b) Makes himself or herself available to provide follow-up care services to the  
patient, or to refer the patient to another provider, for follow-up care.  
(4) A physician providing any telehealth service shall do both of the following:  
(a) Act within the scope of his or her practice.  
(b) Exercise the same standard of care applicable to a traditional, in-person health care  
service.  
R 338.115 Code of ethics.  
Rule 15. (1) The standards of the American Osteopathic Association, 142 E. Ontario  
St., Chicago, IL 60611-2864 set forth in the “Code of Ethics” dated July 24, 2016, are  
adopted by reference in these rules. The code of ethics may be obtained at no cost from  
documents/code-of-ethics/.  
(2) A licensee shall not violate the code of ethics.  
(3) Copies of the adopted standards referenced in subrule (1) of this rule are available  
for inspection and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the Board of  
Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Department of  
Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, 611 West Ottawa, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan  
48909.  
R 338.117 Prescribing of drugs by physician’s assistants; procedures and protocols.  
Rule 17. (1) Under section 17548(3) and (4) of the code, MCL 333.17548, and under  
the terms of a practice agreement, a physician’s assistant may prescribe a drug, including  
a controlled substance that is included in schedules 2 to 5 of part 72 of the code, MCL  
333.7201 to 333.7231, subject to both of the following requirements:  
(a) If a physician’s assistant prescribes a drug, the physician’s assistant’s name must  
be used, recorded, or otherwise indicated in connection with that prescription.  
(b) If a physician’s assistant prescribes a drug that is included in schedules 2 to 5, the  
physician’s assistant’s DEA registration number must be used, recorded, or otherwise  
indicated in connection with that prescription.  
(2) Under section 17548(3) and (5) of the code, MCL 333.17548, and under the terms  
of a practice agreement, a physician’s assistant may order, receive, and dispense  
complimentary starter dose drugs, including controlled substances that are included in  
schedules 2 to 5 of part 72 of the code, MCL 333.7201 to MCL 333.7231, subject to both  
of the following requirements:  
(a) If a physician’s assistant orders, receives, or dispenses a complimentary starter  
dose drug, the physician’s assistant’s name must be used, recorded, or otherwise  
indicated in connection with that order, receipt, or dispensing.  
3
(b) If a physician’s assistant orders, receives, or dispenses a complimentary starter  
dose drug that is included in schedules 2 to 5, the physician’s assistant’s DEA registration  
number must be used, recorded, or otherwise indicated in connection with that order,  
receipt, or dispensing.  
R 338.119 Delegation of prescribing controlled substances to an advanced practice  
registered nurse; limitation.  
Rule 19. (1) A physician may delegate the prescription of controlled substances listed  
in schedules 2 to 5 of part 72 of the code, MCL 333.7201 to MCL 333.7231, to a  
registered nurse who holds specialty certification under section 17210 of the code, MCL  
333.17210, with the exception of a nurse anesthetist, if the delegating physician  
establishes a written authorization that contains all of the following information:  
(a) The name, license number, and signature of the delegating physician.  
(b) The name, license number, and signature of the nurse practitioner, nurse midwife,  
or clinical nurse specialist.  
(c) The limitations or exceptions to the delegation.  
(d) The effective date of the delegation.  
(2) The delegating physician shall review and update a written authorization on an  
annual basis from the original date or the date of amendment, if amended. The  
delegating physician shall note the review date on the written authorization.  
(3) The delegating physician shall maintain a written authorization at the delegating  
physician’s primary place of practice.  
(4) The delegating physician shall provide a copy of the signed, written authorization to  
the nurse practitioner, nurse midwife, or clinical nurse specialist.  
(5) The delegating physician shall ensure that an amendment to the written  
authorization is in compliance with subrules (1), (2), (3), and (4) of this rule.  
(6) A delegating physician may authorize a nurse practitioner, a nurse midwife, or a  
clinical nurse specialist to issue a multiple prescriptions allowing the patient to receive a  
total of up to a 90-day supply of a schedule 2 controlled substance.  
(7) A delegating physician shall not delegate the prescription of a drug or device  
individually, in combination, or in succession for a woman known to be pregnant with the  
intention of causing either a miscarriage or fetal death.  
R 338.120 Training standards for identifying victims of human trafficking; requirements.  
Rule 20. (1) Under section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, a licensed physician or  
licensure applicant shall complete training in identifying victims of human trafficking  
that satisfies the following standards:  
(a) Training content must cover all of the following:  
(i) Understanding the types and venues of human trafficking in the United States.  
(ii) Identifying victims of human trafficking in health care settings.  
(iii) Identifying the warning signs of human trafficking in health care settings for  
adults and minors.  
(iv) Using resources for reporting the suspected victims of human trafficking.  
(b) Acceptable providers or methods of training include any of the following:  
4
(i) Training offered by a nationally recognized or state recognized health-related  
organization.  
(ii) Training offered by, or in conjunction with, a state or federal agency.  
(iii) Training obtained in an educational program that has been approved by the  
board for initial licensure, or by a college or university.  
(iv) Reading an article related to the identification of victims of human trafficking  
that satisfies the requirements of subdivision (a) of this subrule and is published in a peer  
review journal, health care journal, or professional or scientific journal.  
(c) Acceptable modalities of training include any of the following:  
(i) Teleconference or webinar.  
(ii) Online presentation.  
(iii) Live presentation.  
(iv) Printed or electronic media.  
(2) The department may select and audit a sample of individuals and request  
documentation of proof of completion of training. If audited by the department, an  
individual shall provide an acceptable proof of completion of training, including either of  
the following:  
(a) Proof of completion certificate issued by the training provider that includes the  
date, provider name, name of training, and individual’s name.  
(b) A self-certification statement by an individual. The certification statement must  
include the individual’s name and either of the following:  
(i) For training completed under subrule (1)(b)(i) to (iii) of this rule, the date, training  
provider name, and name of training.  
(ii) For training completed under subrule (1)(b)(iv) of this rule, the title of article,  
author, publication name of peer review journal, health care journal, or professional or  
scientific journal, and date, volume, and issue of publication, as applicable.  
(3) Under section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, the requirements specified in  
subrule (1) of this rule apply for license renewals beginning with the 2017 renewal cycle  
and for initial licensure beginning December 20, 2021.  
PART 2. LICENSES  
R 338.121 Accreditation standards for approval of osteopathic medical schools,  
postgraduate training programs, and institutions; adoption by reference.  
Rule 21. (1) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards for accrediting  
osteopathic medical schools developed and adopted by the American Osteopathic  
Association Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation, 142 E. Ontario St.,  
Chicago, Illinois 60611-2864, as set forth in the publication entitled “Accreditation of  
Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine: COM Accreditation Standards and Procedures”  
effective August 29, 2016, which is available at no cost on the association’s website at:  
www.osteopathic.org. The board considers any osteopathic school of medicine accredited  
by the Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation approved by the board.  
(2) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards of the American  
Osteopathic Association Council on Postdoctoral Training, 142 E. Ontario St., Chicago,  
5
Illinois 60611-2864, as set forth in the publication entitled “The Basic Documents for  
Postdoctoral Training,” effective March 1, 2018, which is available at no cost on the  
association’s website at: www.osteopathic.org. The board considers any osteopathic  
postgraduate training program accredited by the American Osteopathic Association  
Council on Postdoctoral Training approved by the board.  
(3) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards of the American  
Osteopathic Association Council on Osteopathic Postdoctoral Training Institutions, 142  
E. Ontario St., Chicago, Illinois 60611-2864, as set forth in the publication entitled  
“OPTI Accreditation Handbook,” effective March 2014, which is available at no cost on  
the association’s website at: www.osteopathic.org. The board considers any osteopathic  
institution accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Council on Osteopathic  
Postdoctoral Training Institutions as approved by the board.  
(4) The board approves and adopts by reference the standards for the approval of a  
postgraduate training program developed and adopted by the Accreditation Council for  
Graduate Medical Education, 401 N. Michigan Avenue, Suite 2000, Chicago, Illinois  
60611, effective July 1, 2016, and available at no cost on the council’s website at:  
www.acgme.org. The board considers any medical postgraduate training program  
accredited on or after July 1, 2015 by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical  
Education approved by the board.  
(5) Copies of the standards and criteria adopted by reference in this rule are available  
for inspection and distribution at a cost of 10 cents per page from the Board of  
Osteopathic Medicine and Surgery, Bureau of Professional Licensing, Licensing and  
Regulatory Affairs, 611 W. Ottawa Street, P.O. Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909.  
R 338.123 Licensure by examination.  
Rule 23. An applicant for licensure by examination, in addition to satisfying the  
requirements of the code, shall satisfy all of the following requirements:  
(a) Submit the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the  
department.  
(b) Possess a degree from a school of osteopathic medicine that satisfies the standards  
set forth in R 338.121(1).  
(c) Have passed all parts of the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing  
Examination (COMLEX) adopted under R 338.129.  
(d) Have completed a minimum of 1 year of postgraduate clinical training in a  
program that satisfies either of the following requirements:  
(i) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(2) at  
a training institution that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(3).  
(ii) A postgraduate training program approved by the board in R 338.121(4).  
(e) Submit a certificate of completion of the postgraduate training required under  
subdivision (d) of this rule to the department no more than 15 days before the scheduled  
date of completion.  
R 338.125 Licensure by endorsement.  
6
Rule 25. (1) An applicant for an osteopathic medicine and surgery license by  
endorsement shall submit the required fee and a completed application on a form  
provided by the department.  
(2) An applicant shall satisfy 1 of the following requirements:  
(a) Has first been licensed in good standing in another state and actively engaged in  
the practice of osteopathic medicine and surgery for at least 5 years before the date of  
filing the application.  
(b) Has first been licensed in good standing in another state and actively engaged in  
the practice of osteopathic medicine and surgery less than 5 years before the date of filing  
the application and satisfies both of the following requirements:  
(i) Passed all parts of the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing  
Examination (COMLEX) adopted under R 338.129.  
(ii) Completed a minimum of 1 year of postgraduate clinical training in a program  
that satisfies either of the following requirements:  
(A) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(2)  
at a training institution that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(3).  
(B) A postgraduate training program approved by the board in R 338.121(4).  
(3) An applicant’s license must be verified by the licensing agency of any state of the  
United States in which the applicant holds a current license or has ever held a license as  
an osteopathic physician. Verification includes, but is not limited to, showing proof that  
the applicant’s license is in good standing and, if applicable, any disciplinary action taken  
or pending against the applicant.  
R 338.127 Educational limited license.  
Rule 27. (1) An individual not eligible for a Michigan osteopathic medicine and  
surgery license shall obtain an educational limited license before engaging in  
postgraduate training.  
(2) An applicant for an educational limited license, in addition to satisfying the  
requirements of the code, shall satisfy all of the following requirements:  
(a) Submit the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the  
department.  
(b) Have documentation provided directly to the department from an osteopathic  
medical school that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(1) verifying that the applicant  
has graduated or is expected to graduate within 3 months of the date of the application.  
(c) Have documentation provided directly to the department verifying that the  
applicant has been accepted into a postgraduate training program that satisfies the  
requirements of R 338.121(2) or (4).  
(3) Under section 17512(2) of the code, MCL 333.17512(2), an educational limited  
license may be renewed not more than 5 years.  
R 338.129 Examination; adoption; passing scores; limitation on attempts; time  
limitations.  
7
Rule 29. (1) The board adopts the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Licensing  
Examination (COMLEX) developed and administered by the National Board of  
Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME).  
(2) The passing score for each part of the COMLEX accepted for licensure is the  
passing score established by the NBOME.  
(3) An applicant cannot make more than 6 attempts to pass any part of the COMLEX.  
(4) An applicant shall successfully pass all parts of the COMLEX within 7 years from  
the date that he or she first passed any part of the COMLEX. An applicant may request  
consideration of a variance of the 7-year requirement by providing, at a minimum, proof  
of both of the following requirements to the board:  
(a) That the applicant has already passed all parts of the COMLEX, but that the time  
taken to pass all parts is more than 7 years.  
(b) That the applicant has completed 1 of the following activities:  
(i) Graduation from an accredited graduate degree program in addition to osteopathic  
medical school.  
(ii) Completion of a residency or fellowship program with demonstrated consistent  
participation in the program.  
R 338.131 Rescinded.  
R 338.133 Relicensure.  
Rule 33. (1) An applicant whose Michigan osteopathic medicine and surgery license  
has lapsed for less than 3 years preceding the date of application for relicensure may be  
relicensed under section 16201(3) of the code, MCL 333.16201, if the applicant satisfies  
all of the following requirements:  
(a) Submits the required fee and a completed application on a form provided by the  
department.  
(b) Submits proof to the department of completing not less than 150 hours of  
continuing education that satisfies the requirements of R 338.141 during the 3 years  
immediately preceding the date of the application for relicensure.  
(c) Establishes that he or she is of good moral character as defined under 1974 PA  
381, MCL 338.41 to 338.47.  
(d) An applicant who holds or has ever held a license to practice osteopathic medicine  
and surgery shall establish all of the following requirements:  
(i) Disciplinary proceedings are not pending against the applicant.  
(ii) If sanctions have been imposed against the applicant, the sanctions are not in  
force at the time of application.  
(iii) A previously held license was not surrendered or allowed to lapse to avoid  
discipline.  
(2) An applicant whose Michigan osteopathic medicine and surgery license has been  
lapsed for 3 years but less than 5 years may be relicensed under section 16201(4) of the  
code, MCL 333.16201, if the applicant submits fingerprints as set forth in section  
16174(3) of the code, MCL 333.16174(3), and satisfies the requirements of subrule (1) of  
this rule and 1 of the following requirements:  
8
(a) Presents proof to the department that he or she is actively licensed and is in good  
standing as an osteopathic physician in another state.  
(b) Completes 1 of the following during the 3 years immediately preceding the date of  
the application for relicensure:  
(i) Takes and passes the Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable-Purpose  
Examination (COMVEX) offered by the NBOME. The passing score is the passing score  
established by the NBOME.  
(ii) Successfully completes a postgraduate training program that satisfies the  
requirements of R 338.121(2) or (4).  
(iii) Successfully completes a physician re-entry program accredited by the Coalition  
for Physician Enhancement (CPE).  
(iv) Successfully completes a physician re-entry program affiliated with an  
osteopathic medical school that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(1).  
(3) An applicant whose Michigan osteopathic medicine and surgery license has been  
lapsed for 5 years or more may be relicensed under section 16201(4) of the code, MCL  
333.16201, if the applicant submits fingerprints as set forth in section 16174(3) of the  
code, MCL 333.16174, and satisfies the requirements of subrule (1) of this rule and 1 of  
the following requirements:  
(a) Presents proof to the department that he or she is actively licensed and is in good  
standing as an osteopathic physician in another state.  
(b) Completes both of the following during the 3 years immediately preceding the date  
of the application for relicensure:  
(i) Takes and passes the COMVEX offered by the NBOME. The passing score is the  
passing score established by the NBOME.  
(ii) Successfully completes 1 of the following training options:  
(A) A postgraduate training program that satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(2)  
or (4).  
(B) A physician re-entry program that is accredited by the CPE.  
(C) A physician re-entry program affiliated with an osteopathic medical school that  
satisfies the requirements of R 338.121(1).  
(4) If required to complete the requirements of subrules (2)(b) or (3)(b) of this rule, the  
applicant may obtain an educational limited license for the sole purpose of completing  
that training.  
(5) An applicant with an educational limited license may be relicensed under section  
16201(3) or (4) of the code, MCL 333.16201, if he or she complies with subrule (1) of  
this rule and R 338.127.  
(6) An applicant must have his or her license verified by the licensing agency of any  
state of the United States in which the applicant holds or has ever held a license to  
practice osteopathic medicine. Verification must include information that the license is  
in good standing and, if applicable, the record of any disciplinary action taken or pending  
against the applicant.  
PART 3. CONTINUING EDUCATION  
9
R 338.141 License renewals.  
Rule 41. (1) This part applies to an application for renewal of an osteopathic medicine  
and surgery license under section 17533 of the code, MCL 333.17533, and an osteopathic  
medicine and surgery special volunteer license under section 16184 of the code, MCL  
333.16184.  
(2) An applicant for license renewal who has been licensed in the 3-year period  
immediately preceding the application for renewal shall accumulate a minimum of 150  
hours of continuing education in activities approved by the board under R 338.143 during  
the 3 years immediately preceding the application for renewal.  
(3) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of  
compliance with the requirements of this rule. The licensee shall retain documentation of  
satisfying the requirements of this rule for 4 years from the date of applying for license  
renewal. Failure to satisfy this rule is a violation of section 16221(h) of the code, MCL  
333.16221.  
(4) The department may select and audit a sample of licensees who have renewed their  
license and request proof of compliance with subrule (2) of this rule. If audited, a  
licensee must submit documentation as specified in R 338.143.  
R 338.143 Acceptable continuing education; requirements; and limitations.  
Rule 43. (1) The 150 hours of continuing education required under R 338.141 must  
satisfy the following requirements, as applicable:  
(a) Credit for a continuing education program or activity that is identical or  
substantially identical to a program or activity for which the licensee has already earned  
credit during the renewal period cannot be granted.  
(b) A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education must be earned in the area of  
medical ethics.  
(c) For license renewals filed December 20, 2017, or later, a minimum of 3 hours of  
continuing education must be earned in the area of pain and symptom management under  
section 17533(2) of the code, MCL 333.17533. At least 1 of the 3 hours must include  
controlled substances prescribing. Continuing education hours in pain and symptom  
management may include, but are not limited to, any of the following areas:  
(i) Public health burden of pain.  
(ii) Ethics and health policy related to pain.  
(iii) Michigan pain and controlled substance laws.  
(iv) Pain definitions.  
(v) Basic sciences related to pain including pharmacology.  
(vi) Clinical sciences related to pain.  
(vii) Specific pain conditions.  
(viii) Clinical physician communication related to pain.  
(ix) Management of pain, including evaluation and treatment and non-  
pharmacological and pharmacological management.  
(x) Ensuring quality pain care and controlled substances prescribing.  
(xi) Michigan programs and resources relevant to pain.  
(d) A minimum of 60 continuing education credits must be obtained through category  
1 programs listed in subrule (2) of this rule.  
10  
(2) The board considers any of the following activities as acceptable category 1  
continuing education:  
Activity and Proof of Completion  
Number of continuing education hours  
granted/permitted for the activity  
The number of continuing education  
hours for a specific program or  
activity is the number of hours  
assigned by the sponsoring  
organization for the specific program  
or activity. A minimum of 40 hours  
of continuing education must be  
earned in this activity. A maximum of  
150 hours of continuing education  
(a) Attendance at or participating in a  
continuing education program or  
activity related to the practice of  
osteopathic medicine, which includes,  
but is not limited to, live, in-person  
programs; and journal articles with a  
self-study component, interactive or  
monitored teleconference; audio  
conference, web-based programs; or  
online programs approved or offered by may be earned for this activity in each  
any of the following organizations:  
American Osteopathic  
Association.  
renewal period.  
Michigan Osteopathic  
Association.  
If audited, a licensee shall submit a copy  
of a letter or certificate of completion  
showing the licensee’s name, number of  
credits earned, sponsor name or the  
name of the organization that approved  
the program or activity for continuing  
education credit, and the date or dates  
on which the program or activity was  
completed.  
(b) Attendance at or participating in a  
continuing education program or  
activity related to the practice of  
The number of continuing education  
hours for a specific program or  
activity is the number of hours  
assigned by the sponsoring  
organization for the specific program  
or activity. A maximum of 110 hours  
of continuing education may be  
earned for this activity in a renewal  
period.  
osteopathic medicine which includes,  
but is not limited to, live, in-person  
programs; and journal articles with a  
self-study component, interactive or  
monitored teleconference; audio  
conference; web-based programs; or  
online programs approved or offered by  
any of the following organizations:  
American Medical Association.  
Accreditation Council for  
Continuing Medical Education.  
Michigan State Medical Society.  
11  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
copy of a letter or certificate of  
completion showing the licensee’s  
name, number of credits earned, sponsor  
name or the name of the organization  
that approved the program or activity  
for continuing education credit, and the  
date or dates on which the program or  
activity was completed.  
(c) Taking and passing a specialty board  
certification or recertification  
A specialty board certification or  
recertification examination  
examination for a specialty board  
recognized by the American  
successfully passed during the renewal  
period is granted 50 hours of  
Osteopathic Association, the American  
Board of Medical Specialties, or the  
American Board of Physician  
continuing education credit. A  
maximum of 50 hours of continuing  
education credit may be earned for  
this activity in each renewal period.  
Specialties.  
If audited, the licensee shall provide  
proof from the specialty board of the  
successful passing of the examination.  
(d) Successfully completing an activity that One hour of continuing education is  
is required for maintenance of a  
specialty certification for a specialty  
board recognized by the American  
Osteopathic Association, the American  
Board of Medical Specialties, or the  
American Board of Physician  
granted for every 60 minutes spent on  
the activity. A maximum of 30 hours  
may be earned for this activity in each  
renewal period.  
Specialties that does not satisfy the  
requirements of subdivision (a) or (c) of  
this subrule.  
If audited, the licensee shall provide  
proof from the specialty board that the  
activity was required for maintenance of  
certification, that the activity was  
successfully completed, and the date of  
completion.  
(e) Serving as a teacher, lecturer, preceptor, Two hours of continuing education are  
or moderator-participant in a medical  
education or training program that  
satisfies the standards adopted by the  
board in R 338.121.  
granted for each scheduled lecture or  
clinical consultation. Additional  
credit for preparation of the lecture  
cannot be granted. A maximum of 90  
hours of continuing education may be  
earned for this activity in each renewal  
period.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
letter from the program director  
12  
verifying the licensee’s role, length of  
lecture or lectures, and the date on  
which the lecture or lectures were held.  
(f) Conducting a formal inspection of an  
osteopathic medical education or  
training program that satisfies the  
standards adopted by the board in R  
338.121 or conducting clinical  
Five hours of continuing education are  
granted per an inspection. A  
maximum of 90 hours of continuing  
education may be earned in this  
activity in each renewal period.  
examinations of osteopathic specialty  
boards recognized by the American  
Osteopathic Association.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit  
documentation from the accrediting  
organization verifying the licensee’s  
role and participation in the inspection.  
(g) Participating in any of the following  
committees:  
Fifteen hours per each committee per  
year are granted. A maximum of 90  
hours of continuing education credit  
shall may be earned for this activity in  
each renewal period.  
A peer review committee  
dealing with quality patient care  
as it relates to the practice of  
osteopathic medicine and  
surgery.  
A committee dealing with  
utilization review as it relates to  
the practice of osteopathic  
medicine.  
A health care organization  
committee with patient care  
issues related to the practice of  
osteopathic medicine.  
A national or state committee,  
board, council, or association  
related to the practice of  
osteopathic medicine.  
A committee, board, council, or  
association is considered acceptable by  
the board if it enhances the participant’s  
knowledge and understanding of the  
practice of osteopathic medicine. If  
audited, the licensee shall submit a letter  
from an organization official verifying  
the licensee’s participation in at least  
50% of the regularly scheduled  
meetings.  
13  
(h) Providing individual supervision for a  
disciplinary limited osteopathic  
physician.  
One hour of continuing education is  
granted for each 60 minutes spent  
consulting or reviewing the  
disciplined licensee’s work. A  
maximum of 50 hours of continuing  
education may be earned for this  
If audited, the licensee shall submit an  
affidavit from the disciplinary limited  
osteopathic physician who received the activity per renewal period.  
supervision. The affidavit shall attest to  
the licensee’s role as supervisor and the  
number of hours spent providing  
supervision to the disciplinary limited  
osteopathic physician.  
(i) Participating in a postgraduate training  
program that satisfies the requirements  
of R 338.121(2) or (4). To receive  
Fifty continuing education credits per  
year are granted. A maximum of 150  
credits per renewal period may be  
earned for this activity in each renewal  
credit the licensee must be enrolled in  
the program a minimum of 5 months per period.  
year.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
letter from the program director  
verifying the dates that the licensee was  
enrolled in the program.  
(j) Publication of a scientific article relating Ten hours of continuing education are  
to the practice of osteopathic medicine  
granted for serving as the primary  
in a peer-reviewed journal or periodical. author. Five hours of continuing  
education are granted for serving as a  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
copy of the publication that identifies  
the licensee as the author or a  
publication acceptance letter and  
documentation  
secondary author. Under subrule  
(1)(a) of this rule, credit for an article  
is granted only once per renewal  
period. A maximum of 90 hours of  
continuing education may be earned  
for this activity in a renewal period.  
Ten hours of continuing education are  
granted for serving as the primary  
author. Five hours of continuing  
education are granted for serving as a  
secondary author. A maximum of 90  
hours may be earned for this activity  
in each renewal period. Under subrule  
(1)(a) of this rule, credit for  
(k) Initial publication of a chapter or a  
portion of a chapter related to the  
practice of osteopathic medicine in  
either of the following textbooks:  
A professional health care  
textbook.  
A peer-reviewed text book.  
publication is granted once per  
renewal period.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
copy of the publication that identifies  
the licensee as the author or a  
publication acceptance letter.  
14  
(l) Until December 20, 2019, attendance at The number of continuing education  
or participation in a continuing  
education activity that had been  
approved by the board before the  
effective date of this rule but does not  
satisfy the requirements of subdivision  
(a) or (b) of this subrule.  
hours for a specific program or  
activity is the number of hours  
previously approved by the board. A  
maximum of 90 hours of continuing  
education may be earned for this  
activity.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
copy of the letter or certificate of  
completion showing the licensee’s  
name, number of continuing education  
hours earned, sponsor name, and the  
date on which the program was held or  
the activity completed.  
(3) The board considers any of the following activities as acceptable category 2  
continuing education:  
Activity and Proof of Completion  
Number of continuing education hours  
granted/permitted for the activity  
(a) Independently reading a peer-reviewed Three hours of continuing education  
journal that does not satisfy the  
requirement of subrule (2)(a) of this  
rule. The reading must have been  
completed before the effective date of  
this rule.  
are granted for each journal article  
read. A maximum of 90 hours of  
continuing education credit may be  
earned for this activity in each renewal  
period. Under subrule (1)(a) of this  
rule, credit for the same article  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
signed document, listing the journals  
read, including title, publisher, volume  
number, article read, and the authors.  
(b) Initial presentation of a scientific  
exhibit, poster, or paper to a  
appearing in different journals is  
granted once per renewal period.  
Ten hours of continuing education are  
granted for each presentation. No  
additional credit is granted for  
preparation of the presentation. A  
maximum of 90 hours may be earned  
in this activity in each renewal period.  
Under subrule (1)(a) of this rule, credit  
professional osteopathic medicine  
organization.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
copy of the document presented with  
proof of the presentation or a letter from for a presentation is granted once per  
the program sponsor verifying the date  
of presentation.  
renewal period.  
(c) Completing a multimedia self-  
assessment that does not satisfy the  
requirements of subrule (2)(a) of this  
rule before December 20, 2016. The  
self-assessment must improve the  
licensee’s knowledge and  
The number of continuing education  
hours is the number of hours approved  
by the self-assessment sponsor. A  
maximum of 90 hours of continuing  
education may be earned for this  
activity.  
15  
understanding of the practice of  
osteopathic medicine.  
If audited, the licensee shall submit a  
certificate of self-assessment provided  
by the program sponsor.