Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Professional Licensing Administrative Rules for Pharmacy Technicians Rule Set 2020-29 LR

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday, January 19, 2021 01:00 PM

The public hearing will be held virtually via Zoom to receive public comments while complying with measures designed to help prevent the spread of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID 19). https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89584407954?pwd=R0ZmOGhNUmw5Z24xZ3g4a2UveGx4dz09 Password for video connection: 759646 Phone number: 877-336-1831 Conference Code for audio connection: 486917

The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will hold a public hearing to receive public comments on proposed changes to the Pharmacy Technicians rule set.

The proposed rules will clarify the requirements and process of applying for a pharmacy technician license; require Board approved pharmacy technician programs to be accredited; limit the time a pharmacy technician student may participate in pharmacy technician activities while in a pharmacy technician program; review pharmacy technician employer programs and examinations every 5 years; require all applicants for relicensure to show good moral character and submit their fingerprints; require all applicants to take human trafficking training; require continuing education to be met with courses and programs instead of taking a proficiency examination; require 1 hour in ethics and jurisprudence in each renewal cycle; modify the continuing education approval process; and allow pharmacy technicians to assist in technology assisted final product verification.

MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16184, 333.16201, 333.16204, 333.16205, 333.17731, 333.17739, 333.17739a, 333.17739b, and 333.17739c, as well as Executive Reorganization Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1 and 2011-4, MCL 338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030. These rules will take effect Immediately after filing with the Secretary of State. The rules are published on the Michigan Government web site at http://www.michigan.gov/moahr and in the Michigan Register in the 1/15/2021 issue. Copies of the draft rules may also be obtained by mail or electronic transmission at the following address:

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Professional Licensing

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Professional Licensing

Committees Section, Attention: Policy Analyst

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Bureau of Professional Licensing

Boards and Committees Section P.O. Box 30670 Lansing, MI 48909-8170

Email: ditschmana@michigan.gov

Comments on the rules may be made in person at the hearing or by mail or electronic mail until 1/19/2021 at 05:00PM.

The public hearing will be conducted in compliance with the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act, in accessible buildings with handicap parking available. Anyone needing assistance to take part in the hearings due to disability may call 711- to make arrangements.