Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs  
Bureau of Professional Licensing  
Administrative Rules for Pharmacy Technicians  
Rule Set 2022-2 LR  
Thursday, April 6, 2023  
09:00 AM  
Location: 611 W. Ottawa Street, UL-5, Lansing, Michigan  
611 W. Ottawa Street, UL-5, Lansing, Michigan  
The Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs will hold a public hearing to receive public  
comments on proposed changes to the Pharmacy Technicians rule set.  
The proposed rules include the following modifications: all existing board approved pharmacy technician  
examinations and programs in this state will be required to be reviewed by the board before December  
31, 2023; all board approved pharmacy technician examinations in this state will have a 70% passing  
score; the board will review comprehensive curriculum-based pharmacy technician education and  
training programs conducted by a community college; a student in a pharmacy technician program who  
is less than 18 years of age may participate in practical training in a pharmacy; a deficient pharmacy  
technician program will not accept students until the deficiency is fixed; licensees may meet the  
pharmacy ethics and jurisprudence continuing education (CE) requirement by taking more than 1 course  
or program; licensees may use the human trafficking training and implicit bias training toward the  
required 20 CE hours; a licensee must apply for a waiver of CE pursuant to the required time  
requirements; a licensee will be able to use CE earned up to the date of the filing of the renewal of their  
license; the 5 hours of CE in live, synchronous, courses or programs may be earned in-person or virtual;  
a licensee may only earn 2 CE hours for the presentation of a CE program that is not a part of the  
licensee’s regular job description; the review of pharmacy technician CE courses and programs and  
pharmacist CE courses and programs will be the same; a pharmacy technician may qualify to perform  
final product verification by either work experience or training; and a pharmacy technician will be allowed  
to work remotely in a limited capacity outside of the personal charge of a pharmacist.  
(By authority conferred on the director of the department of licensing and regulatory affairs by sections  
16145, 16148, 16184, 16186, 16201, 16204, 16205, 16215, 16287, 17731, 17739, 17739a, 17739b, and  
17739c of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16145, 333.16148, 333.16184, 333.16186,  
333.16201, 333.16204, 333.16205, 333.16215, 333.16287, 333.17731, 333.17739, 333.17339a,  
333.17739b, and 333.17739c and Executive Reorganization Order Nos. 1991-9, 1996-2, 2003-1, and  
2011-4, MCL 338.3501, 445.2001, 445.2011, and 445.2030).  
The proposed rules will take effect immediately after filing with the Secretary of State. The proposed  
issue of the Michigan Register. Copies of these proposed rules may also be obtained by mail or  
electronic mail at the following email address:  
Comments on these proposed rules may be made at the hearing, by mail, or by electronic mail at the  
following addresses until 4/6/2023 at 05:00PM.  
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, Bureau of Professional Licensing-Boards and  
Committees Section, Attention: Departmental Specialist  
P.O Box 30670, Lansing, Michigan 48909-8170  
The public hearing will be conducted in compliance with the 1990 Americans with Disabilities Act. If the  
hearing is held at a physical location, the building will be accessible with handicap parking available.  
Anyone needing assistance to take part in the hearing due to disability may call 711- to make